Mike Senne and Gar Millay hit two-run homers in the sixth inning and Gary Alexander pitched a seven-hitter as Arizona defeated Florida State, 10-2, tonight to win the College World Series championship.

The Wildcats, who finished the season with a 49-19 record, won their third NCAA baseball title. They also won the series in 1976 and 1980.

Top-ranked Florida State (61-13) failed in its second trip to the series title game. The Seminoles lost, 2-1, to Southern California in a 15-inning game in 1970.

"It was just an old-fashioned whipping," Florida State Coach Mike Martin said. "They did a great job. We threw our best at them and they beat us."

Both sixth-inning homers came off Florida State reliever Richie Lewis, the series' top pitcher with two saves and two victories entering the game. Lewis had relieved Seminoles starter Mike Loynd, who took the loss and fell to 20-3.

Loynd was trying to tie the all-collegiate season victory record of 21, set by Alan Fowlkes of NCAA Division II Cal Poly Pomona in 1980.

Arizona took a 1-0 lead in the fourth inning when Todd Trafton singled home Chip Hale. The Wildcats made it 2-0 in the fifth when Millay doubled, took third on a wild pitch and scored as Dave Rohde hit into a fielder's choice.

Senne's and Millay's homers made it 6-0 in the sixth. Senne, voted the series' outstanding player, homered after a Chip Hale double. Trafton then walked, and Millay followed with his homer over the left field fence.

"Like Bill Murray said in 'Ghostbusters,' 'We came, we saw, we kicked their butts,' " Senne said.

Arizona scored three more runs in the seventh -- one on a steal of home by Tommy Hinzo -- and one more in the eighth for a 10-0 advantage.

Hinzo stole his third base of the game in the eighth to set a College World Series record for most steals in a championship game.

Florida State averted a shutout by scoring two runs in the ninth.