All six former World Cup champions here are among the 16 teams that have survived the round-robin, preliminary phase of the 13th World Cup.

Three-time champions Brazil and Italy, two-time champions West Germany and Uruguay and one-time champions Argentina and England are among the squads that will begin single-elimination play, which will get under way Sunday.

Mexico, trying to become the sixth host team to win the Cup title, will open the round of 16 Sunday at Azteca Stadium against Bulgaria. Bulgaria and Uruguay are the only teams to advance without winning a game in the three-match preliminary phase.

The top two teams from each of six groups, plus the four third-place finishers with the best records, advanced from the field of 24. In case of ties in the standings, goal differential was the primary tie breaker.

Here is the complete schedule of second-round matchups: Sunday -- Mexico vs. Bulgaria in Mexico City, Soviet Union vs. Belgium in Leon; Monday -- Argentina vs. Uruguay in Puebla, Brazil vs. Poland in Guadalajara; Tuesday -- Italy vs. France in Mexico City, Morocco vs. West Germany in Monterrey; Wednesday -- England vs. Paraguay in Mexico City, Denmark vs. Spain in Queretaro.