Alabama -- Bill Curry succeeds Ray Perkins.

Arizona -- Dick Tomey, 63-46-4 in 10 years at Hawaii, replaces Larry Smith.

California -- Bruce Snyder, 37-38-2 in seven years at Utah State before spending the last four years as an assistant with the Los Angeles Rams, replaces Joe Kapp.

Duke -- Steve Spurrier, in private business last year after coaching the USFL's Tampa Bay Bandits from 1983-85, replaces Steve Sloan, now the athletic director at Alabama.

Georgia Tech -- Bobby Ross, 63-50-1 in 10 seasons at Maryland and The Citadel and an assistant with the Kansas City Chiefs for four years between those jobs, succeeds Curry.

Hawaii -- Bob Wagner, defensive coordinator the last 10 years, succeeds Tomey. It's Wagner's first college head coaching job.

Houston -- Jack Pardee, former head coach of the NFL Chicago Bears and Washington Redskins, and the USFL Houston Gamblers, replaces Bill Yeoman, who resigned after 25 years.

Iowa State -- Jim Walden, 41-55-4 in nine years at Washington State, replaces Jim Criner.

Long Beach State -- Larry Reisbig, an assistant the last two years after 12 years as a junior college coach, replaces Mike Sheppard, who went to New Mexico.

LSU -- Mike Archer, defensive coordinator the last three years, succeeds Bill Arnsparger, now athletic director at Florida. At 34, Archer is Division I-A's youngest head coach. He follows the oldest (Arnsparger was 60).

Maryland -- Joe Krivak, a Maryland assistant since 1982, succeeds Ross, who resigned before he got the Georgia Tech job.

Navy -- Elliot Uzelac, a Michigan assistant the last five years after a 38-39-0 record in seven years as Western Michigan's head coach, replaces Gary Tranquill.

New Mexico -- Sheppard, 16-18-0 in three seasons at Long Beach State, succeeds Joe Lee Dunn, who resigned to become defensive coordinator at South Carolina.

Purdue -- Fred Akers, 96-44-2 in two years at Wyoming and 10 at Texas, replaces Leon Burtnett.

Southern Cal -- Smith, 66-55-3 in 11 years at Tulane and Arizona, replaces Ted Tollner.

Texas -- David McWilliams replaces Akers.

Texas Tech -- Spike Dykes, defensive coordinator for three years, replaces David McWilliams. Dykes was named head coach before the Independence Bowl loss to Mississippi so he is 0-1.

Tulsa -- George Henshaw, offensive coordinator at Alabama the last four years, replaces Don Morton, who went to Wisconsin.

Virginia Tech -- Frank Beamer, 42-23-2 in six years at Murray State, replaces Vince Dooley.

Wake Forest -- Dooley, 132-91-3 in 20 years at North Carolina and Virginia Tech, replaces Al Groh, who resigned.

Washington State -- Dennis Erickson, 38-21-0 in one year at Wyoming and four at Idaho State, replaces Walden.

Western Michigan -- Al Molde, 106-57-6 in 16 years at Sioux Falls, Minnesota-Morris, Central Missouri and Eastern Illinois, replaces Jack Harbaugh.

Wisconsin -- Morton, 70-24-0 in two years at North Dakota State and two at Tulsa, replaces Jim Hilles.

Wyoming -- Paul Roach, Wyoming's athletic director since 1986, replaces Erickson. Roach was an assistant at Oakland, Green Bay and Denver in the NFL for eight years after 10 years at Wyoming and Wisconsin.