Oklahoma staked its claim to the No. 1 spot with its 17-7 upset of top-ranked Nebraska yesterday and the Sooners will get a chance to win the national championship when they face Miami in the Orange Bowl on New Year's Day.

Bids to the postseason bowl games officially went out at 6 last night, although many of the matchups had been open secrets for some time.

Virginia, for example, had known it would be going to the All American Bowl Dec. 22, regardless of the outcome of yesterday's game. The Cavaliers beat North Carolina State anyway, 34-31, and go on to face Brigham Young in Birmingham.

One of the biggest remaining question marks is the date of the Fiesta Bowl, where Nebraska will face Florida State. The game will be played on either Jan. 1 or 2. Organizers are hoping the game will determine the national champion for the second consecutive year.

"If Miami loses to either Notre Dame or South Carolina, we will officially notify the NCAA that our game will be played on Jan. 2 again," said Don Meyers, the Fiesta Bowl's team selection chairman. "When we filled out our application form this year, we stated that our game would be played on either Jan. 1 or Jan. 2 depending on any national championship situation."

Last year's national champion was Penn State, which yesterday accepted an invitation to play Clemson in the Citrus Bowl on New Year's Day.

In the Cotton Bowl, it will be Notre Dame facing the winner of the Thanksgiving Day Texas-Texas A&M game, which will determine the Southwest Conference champion. Notre Dame got the bid despite losing to Penn State yesterday, 21-20.

"We're disappointed about the outcome {of the Penn State game}," said Coach Lou Holtz. "But we got another one ahead {against Miami Nov. 28}. We look forward to going down and playing the Southwest Conference champion."

In the Sugar Bowl, Syracuse will meet the Southeastern Conference champion, either Auburn or Alabama. Those two SEC teams play next Saturday. Auburn, with a conference tie, leads Alabama and No. 9 Louisiana State University, each of which has a conference loss.

The Rose Bowl will feature Big Ten champion Michigan State and Pacific-10 winner Southern California.

And the Big Ten runnerup, Indiana, will go to the Peach Bowl Jan. 2 to face Tennessee.