Seneca Valley is the leader after one round of competition last night at the Maryland Region II AA-A wrestling tournament at Sherwood High School.

The Screaming Eagles (19 points), along with Einstein, placed six wrestlers into the semifinals of the 12 weight classes. Whitman, Rockville and Paint Branch each placed four.

The semifinals will begin today at noon, followed by the consolation semifinals at 1:30, consolation finals at 4:30 and championship finals at 6.

After last night's action Whitman and Wheaton each had 17.5 points. Kennedy and North Hagerstown each had 17 and Rockville 14.5. Kennedy put together its point total by advancing five wrestlers in the consolation competition along with one in the championship bracket.

In the 98 weight class, the only surprise winner was Gaithersburg's Shawn McIver, who pinned second-seeded Jeff Pelemeco of North Hagerstown 4:42 into the match.

At 105, Pelemeco's brother, Todd, also lost, getting pinned at 2:54 by Gaithersburg's James Styslinger.

At 112, top-seeded John McCaffrey of Seneca Valley won easily, but third-seeded Mike Hocker of Wootton was upset by Jeff Blake of Paint Branch in an 11-4 decision.

At 132, Einstein's Sean Tijerna won one of the night's most exciting matches, nipping Joe Forkey of Rockville, 5-3, in overtime.

There were no other surprises until 185, as top seeds Jeff Stroud of Rockville (138), Tom Levin of Wootton (145), Basher El-Fiky of Whitman (155) and John Shelly of Wheaton (167) all won easily.

At 185, Springbrook's Brian Dunne won a 2-1 overtime decision over Tony Zaslov of Bethesda-Chevy Chase, and Magruder's Frank Harrison scored three points in the final 20 seconds to upset second-seeded Shawn Dykes of Kennedy, 4-3.

Harrison trailed, 3-1, when he was given three points for a a near fall.

"I was looking for an escape," Harrison said. "But when I turned I saw an opening and grabbed his legs. I just held them there for the rest of the match."

At heavyweight Magruder pulled off another upset as Brendan Fitzpatrick beat second-seeded Zeke Machado of Churchill, 6-4.

Of the 19 schools participating in the meet, only Blair and Walter Johnson failed to win a match.