Washington Redskins Super Bowl heroes Doug Williams and Tim Smith will be two of the honorees tonight at the 15th annual National Football League Players Association awards banquet at the Washington Sheraton. Several other Redskins, including cornerback Darrell Green, will receive awards for being voted the best at their positions by their opponents.

The NFLPA, the players' union, had offensive players vote for the best defensive players (not including their own teammates) and vice-versa. Jerry Rice, the record-setting wide receiver from the San Francisco 49ers, was voted the NFC's most valuable player and John Elway, who led the Denver Broncos to the Super Bowl, will receive the AFC's MVP award.

Offensive players cast their ballots for New England's Andre Tippett (AFC) and the Giants' Carl Banks (NFC) as the top linebackers; Buffalo's Bruce Smith and Philadelphia's Reggie White as the top defensive linemen, Green and Cleveland's Hanford Dixon as the top defensive backs; Philadelphia tackle Jerome Brown and Buffalo linebacker Shane Conlan as the top defensive rookies.

Defensive players selected Miami center Dwight Stephenson and the Rams' Jackie Slater as the top offensive linemen; Miami all-purpose back Troy Stradford and St. Louis tight end Robert Awalt as the top offensive rookies. Steve Tasker of Buffalo and kicker Morten Andersen of New Orleans will receive awards for outstanding special teams play.

The master of ceremonies will be Don Maynard, the former New York Jets receiver who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1987. Between $70,000 and $80,000, which is what the NFLPA hopes to raise, will go to the Muscular Distrophy Association.