TAMPA, DEC. 2 -- UCLA and Rutgers battled to a scoreless tie for 150 minutes today before the Bruins beat the Scarlet Knights, 4-3, on penalty kicks to win the NCAA Division I soccer championship.

Each team had 22 shots on goal through regulation, two 15-minute overtimes and two 15-minute, sudden death periods.

It was the second straight penalty-kick victory in the Final Four for second-ranked UCLA, which defeated North Carolina State, 5-3, Saturday to advance to the championship. Third-ranked Rutgers (20-3-2) advanced by upsetting No. 1 Evansville, 1-0, on Saturday.

UCLA (19-1-4) won the 1985 title with a 1-0, eight-overtime victory over American University.

Last year Virginia and Santa Clara were declared co-champions after playing to a 1-1 tie for 150 minutes in below-zero temperatures in Piscataway, N.J.

In response to that game, the NCAA instituted penalty kicks after 60 minutes of overtime to decide a champion.

"Our inability to score goals wasn't due to a lack of trying," said UCLA Coach Sigi Schmid. "We played much better than we did last night. The only thing we didn't do was score goals."

The best chance in regulation came with 5:26 left, when UCLA forward Billy Thompson's shot struck the post. With 35 seconds remaining in the first overtime, a shot by Rutgers All-American Alexi Lalas struck the crossbar.

"We lost to a great team," said Rutgers Coach Bob Reasso. "We had to play a hell of a lot of soccer. Both teams looked extremely tired at the end. Penalty kicks are a tough way to lose."

Freshman midfielder Brian Sentowski led Rutgers with five shots, and Thompson led UCLA with six.

In the shootout, UCLA's Joe-Max Moore, Tim Gallegos, Chris Henderson and Jorge Salcedo scored goals. Rutgers' goals were scored by Lino DiCuollo, Maurice Mazzocchi and Chris Beach. UCLA goalie Brad Friedel saved kicks by Steve Rammel and Dave Mueller.