Virginia wide receiver Herman Moore, who finished sixth in last week's Heisman Trophy balloting, was one of five juniors named to the 1990 Associated Press all-America college football first team, announced yesterday. Cavaliers quarterback Shawn Moore was named to the second team.

Herman Moore caught 54 passes for 1,190 yards and 13 touchdowns to lead the 8-3 Cavaliers to a No. 1 ranking through much of the season and a berth in the Sugar Bowl Jan. 1 against Tennessee. He also set an NCAA record with at least one touchdown catch in nine consecutive games.

Shawn Moore, recovering from a thumb injury, finished the regular season as the top-rated quarterback in the nation. He had 144 completions in 244 attempts for 2,262 yards and 21 touchdowns.

The Heisman Trophy winner and runner-up are two of the other juniors named: Brigham Young quarterback Ty Detmer, who set or tied 34 NCAA records in 1990, and Notre Dame all-purpose back Raghib "Rocket" Ismail.

Detmer passed for a record 5,188 yards. His career total of 11,000 yards is only 425 behind all-time passing leader Todd Santos, who played at San Diego State.

Ismail, who led the Irish to a No. 5 ranking, averaged 157 all-purpose yards per game and scored six touchdowns.

The other juniors on the team are Auburn guard Ed King and Georgia Tech defensive back Ken Swilling. All the other members are seniors.

Four players returned from last year's squad: Ismail, Colorado guard Joe Garten, Notre Dame defensive lineman Chris Zorich and Michigan defensive back Tripp Welborne.

Two players named to the team in 1988 were again chosen: Texas A&M running back Darren Lewis and Notre Dame linebacker Mike Stonebreaker (who sat out 1989 for disciplinary reasons).

The other offensive players were Colorado running back Eric Bieniemy, Florida State receiver Lawrence Dawsey, BYU tight end Chris Smith, Syracuse center John Flannery, Alabama kicker Philip Doyle and tackles Antone Davis of Tennessee and Stacy Long of Clemson.

The defensive team is led by Miami's Russell Maryland and Colorado's Alfred Williams, winner of the Butkus Award as the nation's best linebacker.