The Washington Redskins, back in the playoffs for the first time since 1987 and on what has become their traditional December roll, received some more good news yesterday when running back Earnest Byner, cornerback Darrell Green, offensive tackle Jim Lachey and wide receiver Gary Clark were named to the NFC Pro Bowl team.

That's their biggest contingent since seven made the squad after the 1986 season, and it's three more than a year ago when only defensive end Charles Mann was voted to the team (quarterback Mark Rypien joined the NFC squad after several others withdrew).

But yesterday's biggest Pro Bowl news concerned New York Giants linebacker Lawrence Taylor and Bo Jackson of the Los Angeles Raiders and Kansas City Royals.

Taylor was voted by the league's players and coaches to the NFC team for a record 10th time in 10 pro seasons. Jackson became the first athlete to play in all-star games in two sports. He was the most valuable player of baseball's 1989 All-Star Game.

The Buffalo Bills lead all teams with eight players, including injured quarterback Jim Kelly. The Houston Oilers and Chicago Bears had six apiece, the San Francisco 49ers and New York Giants five and the Redskins and Philadelphia Eagles four.

Green and Lachey were named NFC starters, while Byner and Clark were named backups. Green will be making his fourth trip, Clark his third and Lachey his second (first with the Redskins).

It is the first time for Byner, and he was probably the happiest Redskin yesterday, having made the Pro Bowl after a roller-coaster season in which he shared the rushing load with Gerald Riggs for nine weeks, then became the NFC's No. 1 rusher in the five weeks since Riggs was hurt.

Down the stretch, Byner has put together four 100-yard games in five weeks and become only the fifth Redskins back to gain 1,000 yards. His 1,081 yards is the ninth-highest total in team history.

"It's a pleasant surprise," he said. "It's an honor because it's from the guys around the league who respect your play. It's also a tribute to the guys up front, the receivers and the guys who block for me."

Clark accepted the honor on behalf of the other two members of The Posse -- Art Monk and Ricky Sanders. They're all ranked in the top 10 among NFC receivers and Coach Joe Gibbs said, "When you have three receivers, that's going to split the catches and make it hard to feature one of them."

But no one could argue with Clark's selection. His 68 catches are fourth in the NFC and he has passed 1,000 receiving yards for the fourth time in five seasons. He has caught 50 or more passes for six straight seasons, tying Hall of Famer Bobby Mitchell's team record.

He also has established himself as one of the toughest and most competitive Redskins of all time, one who has become legendary for his sideline tantrums at the end of losing games or busted plays.

"It's a good feeling to know the guys think so much of you," he said. "I hope it's an omen. The other two times I've been to the Pro Bowl, we went pretty far in the playoffs {NFC championship game in 1986, Super Bowl in 1987}. Anytime you've got Ricky Sanders and Art Monk on the other side of the ball, it makes my job easier."

No Redskin deserved the honor more than Green, but he could have been a victim of his own excellence. He intercepted three passes the first three games, but only one since, primarily because teams are hesitant to throw in his direction. Green made the Pro Bowl in 1984, 1986 and 1987. He was playing at a Pro Bowl level last season when he broke a wrist in Week 7.

"I thought I was on a Pro Bowl pace when I got injured," he said. "That's all talk, but now that I've come back and hopefully started where I left off, I've proven I was on that pace. I'm very thankful. I think my game is complete now. In the beginning, it was all reaction and speed. But now I understand the game and the defenses and what teams are trying to do."

Lachey, who for three years has been one of the best and most consistent offensive linemen in the game, made the AFC team in 1987 while playing for the San Diego Chargers. His coaches say he played about the same level last season. Going against an opponent's best pass rusher -- right defensive end -- his excellence is something the Redskins have come to take for granted.

Mann and linebacker Wilber Marshall were left off the team. Mann had made it for three straight seasons, but since only three defensive ends -- Reggie White, Richard Dent and Chris Doleman -- were taken and Mann's sacks had declined from 9 1/2 to 5 1/2, he was left off.

"I'm disappointed in the fact I didn't have the stats I'm accustomed to," he said. "I figured two or three weeks ago I wouldn't make it. I think I've played well, and I think people respect me around the league. It's not a question of that. They only picked three guys, and I can't take anything away from them. They deserved it too."

Marshall has said several times that he has played as well as at any time in his career. But with the outside linebacker slot on Pro Bowl teams now owned by players who are essentially stand-up defensive ends, what he does -- make tackles and cover tight ends -- is less appreciated.


QUARTERBACKS: Warren Moon, Oilers; Jim Kelly, Bills.

RUNNING BACKS: Thurman Thomas, Bills; Marion Butts, Chargers; Bobby Humphrey, Broncos; Bo Jackson, Raiders.

WIDE RECEIVERS: Andre Reed, Bills; Anthony Miller, Chargers; Drew Hill, Oilers; Ernest Givins, Oilers.

TIGHT ENDS: Rodney Holman, Bengals; Ferrell Edmunds, Dolphins.

GUARDS: Bruce Matthews, Oilers; Mike Munchak, Oilers; Steve Wisniewski, Raiders.

OFFENSIVE TACKLES: Anthony Munoz, Bengals; Bruce Armstrong, Patriots; Richmond Webb (rookie), Dolphins.

CENTERS: Kent Hull, Bills; Don Mosebar, Raiders.

DEFENSIVE ENDS: Bruce Smith, Bills; Greg Townsend, Raiders; Jeff Cross, Dolphins.

NOSE TACKLES: Michael Dean Perry, Browns; Ray Childress, Oilers.

OUTSIDE LINEBACKERS: Derrick Thomas, Chiefs; Leslie O'Neal, Chargers; Cornelius Bennett, Bills.

INTERIOR LINEBACKERS: John Offerdahl, Dolphins; Shane Conlan, Bills; David Little, Steelers.

CORNERBACKS: Rod Woodson, Steelers; Albert Lewis, Chiefs; Kevin Ross, Chiefs.

SAFETIES: Steve Atwater, Broncos; David Fulcher, Bengals; Dennis Smith, Broncos.

PUNTER: Rohn Stark, Colts.

KICKER: Nick Lowery, Chiefs.

KICK RETURNER: Clarence Verdin, Colts.

SPECIAL TEAMER: Steve Tasker, Bills.


QUARTERBACKS: Joe Montana, 49ers; Randall Cunningham, Eagles.

RUNNING BACKS: Barry Sanders, Lions; Neal Anderson, Bears; Earnest Byner, Redskins; Johnny Johnson (rookie), Cardinals.

WIDE RECEIVERS: Jerry Rice, 49ers; Andre Rison, Falcons; Sterling Sharpe, Packers; Gary Clark, Redskins.

TIGHT ENDS: Keith Jackson, Eagles; Steve Jordan, Vikings.

GUARDS: Randall McDaniel, Vikings; Mark Bortz, Bears; Guy McIntyre, 49ers.

OFFENSIVE TACKLES: Jim Lachey, Redskins; Jackie Slater, Rams; Lomas Brown, Lions.

CENTERS: Jay Hilgenberg, Bears; Bart Oates, Giants.

DEFENSIVE ENDS: Reggie White, Eagles; Chris Doleman, Vikings; Richard Dent, Bears.

NOSE TACKLES: Jerome Brown, Eagles; Jerry Ball, Lions.

OUTSIDE LINEBACKERS: Charles Haley, 49ers; Lawrence Taylor, Giants; Pat Swilling, Saints.

INSIDE LINEBACKERS: Pepper Johnson, Giants; Mike Singletary, Bears; Vaughan Johnson, Saints.

CORNERBACKS: Darrell Green, Redskins; Carl Lee, Vikings; Wayne Haddix, Buccaneers.

SAFETIES: Joey Browner, Vikings; Ronnie Lott, 49ers; Mark Carrier (rookie), Bears.

PUNTER: Sean Landeta, Giants.

KICKER: Morten Andersen, Saints.

KICK RETURNER: Mel Gray, Lions.

SPECIAL TEAMER: Reyna Thompson, Giants.