Yesterday was a day of awards for Bobby Ross.

First, Ross, who led Georgia Tech to an undefeated season and a share of the national college football championship, was named Division I-A coach of the year by the American Football Coaches Association.

Later in the day, the Football Writers Association of America announed Ross would receive its Bear Bryant Award as coach of the year.

Georgia Tech, which completed an 11-0-1 season by beating Nebraska, 45-21, in the Citrus Bowl, was named national champion by United Press International. Colorado, which finished 11-1-1 after beating Notre Dame in the Orange Bowl, won the Associated Press's national title.

Tim Stowers of Georgia Southern was named Division I-AA coach of the year by the AFCA. Rocky Hager of North Dakota State won the award for NCAA Division II and NAIA Division I schools; Ken O'Keefe of Allegheny was the winner for NCAA Division III and NAIA Division II.

In other news involving Georgia Tech, university officials announced the Yellow Jackets will play Penn State Aug. 28 in the Kickoff Classic at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

Penn State was 9-3 last season, dropping a 24-17 decision to Florida State in the Blockbuster Bowl. . . .

The NCAA has put Miami (Ohio) University on two years probation because of violations by former men's basketball coach Jerry Peirson, adding the university's cooperation in the investigation spared it more severe penalties.

Peirson was fired last August after admitting he improperly gave an "A" to a player who took his basketball theory class. The player, Karlton Clayborne, never showed up for class, but the grade kept him eligible to play in the 1988-89 season.