COLLEGES Football Hall of Fame -- Heisman Trophy winners Steve Owens of Oklahoma and Pat Sullivan of Auburn were among 12 players, three coaches named to hall. The other players: WR Fred Biletnikoff of Florida State, RBs Ed Marinaro of Cornell and L. Parker Hall of Mississippi, DB Kenny Easley of UCLA, DE Hub Bechtol of Texas and linemen Alex Karras of Iowa, Bobby Bell of Minnesota, George Savitsky of Pennsylvania, James Stillwagon of Ohio State and Wayne Meylan of Nebraska. The coaches: Dave Maurer of Wittenberg, Tommy Prothro of Oregon State and UCLA and Allyn McKeen of Memphis State and Mississippi State. Virginia -- OT Ray Roberts was named 1990 winner of Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given annually to top blocker in ACC football. Houston -- David Klingler, who replaced 1989 Heisman Trophy winner Andre Ware and broke many of his NCAA records last season, will return for his senior season, Houston Post reported.

HIGH SCHOOLS Episcopal -- RB Derek Fitzgerald has verbally committed to William and Mary.

SOCCER U.S. National Team -- F-MF Brian Bliss, an Olympic and World Cup veteran, signed with Cottbus FC of German Second Division.

CORRECTION In yesterday's early editions, Kirstin Smith and Jason Slaughter were listed as students at Mount St. Mary's College. Both attend St. Mary's College.