Awards -- Saturday's list of "Timmie" award winners omitted broadcaster Ed Walker, who received Board of Governors award. (Published 2/12/91)

Buffalo Bills quarterback Jim Kelly may not have led his team to victory in Super Bowl XXV, and he may not have been whisked off to Disney World afterward, but he will be honored as the NFL's most valuable player at the 56th Annual Touchdown Club "Timmie" Awards banquet tonight at the Sheraton Washington Hotel.

Kelly will be joined by Bills Coach Marv Levy, the club's American Football Conference coach of the year, at the ceremony, which is dedicated to George Allen, the former Washington Redskins coach who died Dec. 31. Former Redskins quarterback Billy Kilmer will be honored with the George Allen leadership and achievement award.

San Francisco 49ers Coach George Seifert, whose team was upset in the NFC championship game by the eventual Super Bowl champion New York Giants, is the NFC coach of the year.

The awards began in 1935, the same year as the founding of the Touchdown Club by Arthur J. "Dutch" Bergman, a teammate of the legendary George Gipp at Notre Dame in the 1920s. The first ceremony, far less upscale than today's, was held at the Social Oyster Club on Rhode Island Avenue.

This year's Redskins offensive player of the year is tackle Jim Lachey, who started in last weekend's Pro Bowl. Past winners include John Riggins, Mark Moseley and Gary Clark. Lineman Charles Mann, the team's defensive player of the year, joins the likes of Dave Butz, Ken Houston and Neal Olkewicz. Linebacker Andre Collins is the Redskins' rookie of the year.

Longtime Washington Senator Mickey Vernon is the recipient of the club's most prestigious baseball honor, the Clark C. Griffith Award, previously given to Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Hank Aaron and Tommy Lasorda, as well as Orioles Manager Frank Robinson.

In addition, Annandale All-Met running back James Milliner, who rushed for 2,250 yards and scored 33 touchdowns his senior year and committed to UCLA, is the suburban Virginia player of the year. Springbrook running back Leonard Green will be honored for suburban Maryland; H.D. Woodson's 6-foot-7, 330-pound offensive lineman Robert Jackson, bound for Clemson, is the District's player of the year.

McNamara quarterback Junior Bynum, who has not decided on a college, is the local prep school player of the year. Springbrook Coach Bob Milloy and Wilde Lake Coach Doug Duval also will be honored.

Among the other award winners: boxer of the year, George Foreman; college coach of the year, Bill McCartney of national co-champion Colorado; college lineman of the year, Notre Dame's Chris Zorich; and backs of the year, Colorado tailback Eric Bieniemy and Houston's David Klingler.

NFC Coach of the Year: George Seifert, San Francisco 49ers

AFC Coach of the Year: Marv Levy, Buffalo Bills

NFL Player of the Year: Jim Kelly, Buffalo Bills

NFL Rookie of the Year: Mark Carrier, Chicago Bears

George Allen Leadership and Achievement Award: Billy Kilmer

Hubert H. Humphrey Award: Willard Scott, NBC-TV

Outstanding Achievement in Boxing: George Foreman

Touchdown Club Board of Governors Award: Gov. L. Douglas Wilder, Virginia

Clark C. Griffith Award: Mickey Vernon

Arch McDonald Achievement Award: Johnny Holliday (WMAL/ABC Radio Network)

College (NCAA Division I) Team of the Year: Colorado

College Coach of the Year: Bill McCartney, Colorado

College Back of the Year: Eric Bieniemy, Colorado, and David Klingler, Houston

College Lineman of the Year: Chris Zorich, Notre Dame

Redskins Offensive Player of the Year: Jim Lachey

Redskins Defensive Player of the Year: Charles Mann

Redskins Rookie of the Year: Andre Collins

Local Schoolboy Player of the Year: Darren Wimbish, RB, Peppermill Boys and Girls Club

Local Prep School Player of the Year: Junior Bynum, McNamara, QB

Suburban Maryland High School Player of the Year: Leonard Green, Springbrook, RB

Suburban Virginia High School Player of the Year: James Milliner, Annandale, RB

Washington, D.C. High School Player of the Year: Robert Jackson, H.D. Woodson, OL

Local High School Coach of the Year: Doug Duval, Wilde Lake

Maryland High School Coach of the Decade: Bob Milloy, Springbrook

National Junior College Quarterback of the Year: John Kaleo, Montgomery-Rockville

National Junior College Coach of the Year: Phil Martin, Montgomery-Rockville

Sports Marketing Executive of the Year: William Purier Payne, Atlanta

High School Male Athlete/Scholar of the Year: Derrick Brooks, Booker T. Washington H.S., Pensacola, Fla.

High School Female Athlete/Scholar of the Year: Vicki Goetz, Academy H.S., Athens, Ga.

U.S. Military Male Athlete of the Year: Lance Corporal Sergio Reyes

U.S. Military Female Athlete of the Year: Captain Teresa Lewis

Golden Timmie Award for Outstanding Performance in NFL and Community Service: Joe Jacoby, Redskins

Outstanding Achievement in Hockey: David Poile

Special Award to Army-Navy 100th Football Game Winner: Willie McMillian, Army, QB