Five AL umpires have decided not to quit after all and 13 umps never resigned to begin with, a high-ranking baseball official told the Associated Press yesterday. Last week, union head Richie Phillips said 57 of the 66 unionized umpires had resigned, effective Sept. 2.

Those who never quit included 11 AL umpires, according to the official, who spoke on the condition of anonymity. Also, two NL umps never quit, according to union president Jerry Crawford. That would mean that as of now, only 48 of the 66 unionized umpires plan to resign: 34 in the NL, 14 in the AL.

Two AL umpires were hired during the 1979 strike and are not members of the union.

Larry Barnett, Jim Joyce, Dave Phillips, Rocky Roe and Dale Scott are the umpires who rescinded their resignations, according to another high-ranking baseball official.

McLAIN CHARGES DROPPED: Charges were dropped against former baseball star Denny McLain, who had been accused of concocting a scheme to sell worthless telephone calling cards. McLain, who in 1968 became the last pitcher to win 30 games, had been indicted with John A. "Junior" Gotti. The prosecution concluded that proving the case would be very difficult and withdrew conspiracy and fraud charges against McLain, Anthony Plomitallo and Michael Zambouros.

McLain, 55, had been in Westchester County (N.Y.) Jail awaiting trial. He will return to federal prison in Lewis Run, Pa., where he must serve about five more years of an eight-year sentence for a pension fund swindle.

THE FUTURE IS NOW: The Padres and Giants will have a futuristic look for their game today, the first in a series of "Turn the Clock Ahead" games planned by Major League Baseball and Century 21 real estate.

The players will wear hats and jerseys projected to be the style in 2021. Postions on the field will be renamed to reflect the future, with shortstop called "intermediate station" and left field becoming "left sector." The scoreboard will be graphically enhanced with special effects and the sound system will be modified. Over the second half of the season, 22 clubs will participate in the promotion.