Colorado's Larry Walker won his second straight National League batting championship. Walker, who started only 111 games because of injuries, hit .379, the highest NL average for a full season since Arky Vaughan hit .385 for Pittsburgh in 1935. Tony Gwynn hit .394 in the strike-shortened 1994 season.

Walker's 42-point victory over Arizona's Luis Gonzalez was the biggest in the NL since 1948, when Stan Musial hit .376 and finished 43 points ahead of Richie Ashburn.

Houston's Craig Biggio hit its 56th double yesterday, the most in the majors since Detroit's George Kell had 56 in 1950 and most in the NL since Joe Medwick had 56 for St. Louis in 1937.

Arizona's Randy Johnson led the majors in strikeouts for the sixth time, fanning 364, the fourth-highest total ever. He struck out 10 or more 23 times, matching the record Nolan Ryan set with the California Angels in 1973.

Houston's Mike Hampton had the most victories in the NL, finishing 22-4, one win ahead of teammate Jose Lima. Johnson won the NL ERA title at 2.48.

DECADE OF GRACE: Despite going 0 for 3 yesterday, Cubs 1B Mark Grace finished with the most hits in the 1990s -- 1,754, seven more than Texas's Rafael Palmeiro. Grace also led in doubles with 364, two more than Houston's Craig Biggio. Every retired player who has led a decade in hits, except career hits leader Pete Rose, is in the Hall of Fame.