Florida State is No. 1 in all-American football players as well as No. 1 in the rankings.

Wide receiver Peter Warrick and kicker Sebastian Janikowski led a foursome of Seminoles selected yesterday for the Associated Press's all-American team, a squad that features Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne.

Noseguard Corey Simon and offensive guard Jason Whitaker were the other Florida State players chosen, while Penn State had three defensive stars on the team--linebackers LaVar Arrington and Brandon Short and end Courtney Brown.

Warrick, Janikowski and Simon were the only repeaters from last year's team.

Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech's record-setter who threw for 3,060 yards and 27 touchdowns, was the top choice at quarterback, beating out Virginia Tech redshirt freshman Michael Vick, who made the second team. Hamilton, the Heisman runner-up, was second nationally in total offense with 3,798 yards--345.2 yards per game.

Warrick, a Heisman front-runner before his arrest on theft charges and two-game suspension, still caught 71 passes for 934 yards and had 12 touchdowns in nine games. The 6-foot, 190-pound senior also produced touchdowns passing, rushing and returning punts for the Seminoles (11-0), who play for the national title in the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 4 against Vick's No. 2 Hokies (11-0).

Dayne, who broke Ricky Williams's major college career rushing record, ran for 1,834 yards and 19 touchdowns in leading Wisconsin (9-2) to the Big Ten title and a Rose Bowl matchup against Stanford. Dayne, who has 6,397 career rushing yards, also was the AP college player of the year, and won the Maxwell and Doak Walker awards.

The Big Ten was the top conference with seven players on the team, which consisted of 21 seniors and five juniors. The Atlantic Coast Conference was next with six players.

Dayne was joined in the backfield by Virginia's Thomas Jones, who ran for 1,798 yards and 16 touchdowns; Warrick's partner at wideout was Stanford's Troy Walters, who caught 74 passes for a Pacific-10 Conference record 1,456 yards and 10 touchdowns. Walters won the Biletnikoff award as the nation's top receiver.

James Whalen of Kentucky was the tight end after a season of 90 catches, 1,019 yards and 10 touchdowns. His 90 catches set an NCAA major-college mark for single-season receptions by a tight end.