Howard's Elijah Thurmon was one of three wide receivers included on the Associated Press Division I-AA football all-American team, released yesterday. Thurmon set a school record with 84 catches for a Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference and school mark with 1,366 yards. He had nine touchdowns.

The other wide receivers are Cornell Craig of Southern Illinois and Jamal White of Towson.

Georgetown defensive back Jim Gallagher and Howard offensive lineman Mpumi Masimini were selected to the third team. Gallagher was tied for second in the nation with seven interceptions.

Giovanni Carmazzi, Hofstra's record-setting quarterback who threw for more than 3,000 yards and accounted for 37 touchdowns, and Payton Award-winning running back Adrian Peterson of Georgia Southern, also were named to the team. Peterson ran for 1,807 yards with 29 touchdowns.

The defense is led by Buck Buchanan Award winner Al Lucas of Troy State. The 6-foot-2, 299-pounder had 97 tackles, including 18 for losses, and four sacks.

The Payton Award is I-AA's version of the Heisman Trophy; the Buchanan goes to the division's top defensive player.


First Team


Quarterback: Giovanni Carmazzi, Hofstra, 6-3, 220, senior, Sacramento.

Running backs: Adrian Peterson, Georgia Southern, 5-10, 207, sophomore, Alachua, Fla.; Charles Roberts, Cal State-Sacramento, 5-6, 175, junior, Montclair, Calif.

Receivers: Cornell Craig, Southern Illinois, 6-1, 167, senior, Louisville; Elijah Thurmon, Howard, 6-4, 208, senior, Severn, Md.; Jamal White, Towson, 6-0, 191, sophomore, Sicklerville, N.J.

Center: Brad Meester, Northern Iowa, 6-3, 286, senior, Parkersburg, Iowa.

Linemen: Paul Clasby, Colgate, 6-2, 285, senior, Whitman, Mass.; Lance Knaevelsrud, Eastern Washington, 6-4, 270, senior, Bellevue, Wash.; John Uriarte, Southern Utah, 6-3, 275, senior, Sandy, Utah; Mark Williams, Georgia Southern, 6-1, 312, senior, Albany, Ga. Place kicker: Brett Sterba, William & Mary, 6-0, 185, junior, Westlake, Ohio.

All-purpose: Rick Sarille, Wagner, 5-11, 190, senior, Key Biscayne, Fla.


Linemen: Voncellies Allen, Georgia Southern, 6-0, 286, senior, Douglas, Ga.; Damien Gregory, Illinois State, 602, 305, senior, Lansing, Mich.; Al Lucas, Troy State, 6-2, 299, senior, Macon, Ga.; Jojo Oliphant, Maine, 6-3, 245, senior, White Plains, N.Y.

Linebackers: Edgerton Hartwell, Western Illinois, 6-2, 235, junior, Las Vegas; Tommie Head, Jackson State, 6-1, 210, junior, Muskegon, Mich.; Deon Hunt, Hampton, 6-1, 240, senior, Detroit; Isaiah Kacyvenski, Harvard, 6-2, 240, senior, Endicott, N.Y.

Backs: Ryan Crawford, Davidson, 6-2, 176, junior, Newton, N.C.; John Keith, Furman, 6-0, 200, senior, Newnan, Ga.; Mike Green, Northwestern State, 6-0, 176, senior, Ruston, La.; Jeremy Robinson, Massachusetts, 6-2, 194, sophomore, Syracuse, N.Y.

Punter: Matthew Peot, Montana State, 6-1, 195, senior, Visalia, Calif.

Second Team


Quarterback: Drew Miller, Montana.

Running backs: Curtis Keaton, James Madison; Destry Wright, Jackson State.

Receivers: Mike Furrey, Northern Iowa, Cainon Lamb, Florida A&M; Murle Sango, Villanova.

Center: Patrick Goodman, Western Kentucky.

Linemen: Michael Moore, Troy State; Jon Osterhout, Cal State-Sacramento; Chad Slaughter, Alcorn State; Michael Thompson, Tennessee State.

Place kicker: David Collett, Tennessee Tech.

All-purpose: Ronald Jean, Lehigh.


Linemen: Kelly Bryant, Montana; Lamar Carter, Tennessee State; Jim Magda, Hofstra; Brennen Swanson, Cal State-Northridge.

Linebackers: Ian Dominelli, Youngstown State; Derick Pack, James Madison; Matt Pedersen, Northern Iowa; Kevin Peterson, East Tennessee State.

Backs: Corey Hall, Appalachian State; Eric Kenesie, Valparaiso; Darryl Klugh, North Carolina A&T; Jerard White, Massachusetts.

Punter: Brian Bivens, Murray State.

Third Team


Quarterback: JaJuan Seider, Florida A&M.

Running backs: Corey Holmes, Mississippi Valley State; Marcel Shipp, Massachusetts.

Receivers: Stephen Campbell, Brown; Terry Charles, Portland State; Sylvester Morris, Jackson State. Center: Aaron Best, Eastern Washington.

Linemen: Wes Gallagher, Tennessee Tech; Mpumi Masimini, Howard; Mike Rodbro, Illinois State; Ian Shirley, Youngstown State.

Place kicker: Josh Jones, Western Carolina.

All-purpose: Des Kitchings, Furman.


Linemen: Michael Bland, Hampton; Eric Chandler, Jackson State; Mike Foster, Drake; Eugene Phillips, Georgia Southern.

Linebackers: Kole Ayi, Massachusetts; Ian Eason, Lehigh; Jim Emanuel, Hofstra; Anthony Rabb, Troy State. Backs: DeJuan Alfonzo, Indiana State; Jim Gallagher, Georgetown; Earthwind Moreland, Georgia Southern; Joshua Symonette, Tennessee Tech.

Punter: Tony Umholtz, South Florida.