Aloha Bowl

Aloha Stadium, Honolulu

Arizona State vs. Wake Forest

Time/TV: 3:30 p.m., WJLA-7, WMAR-2.

Records: Arizona State 6-5 (5-3, fourth in Pacific-10); Wake Forest 6-5 (3-5, tied for fifth in Atlantic Coast Conference).

Coaches: Arizona State, Bruce Snyder; Wake Forest, Jim Caldwell.

Payout: $800,000 per team.

Of note: This is the Sun Devils' third bowl appearance this decade and third in the past four seasons. Wake Forest has made only four bowl appearances, the last being the 1992 Independence Bowl, a game that capped the Demon Deacons' last winning campaign before this season. Both teams needed to win their final games of the season (Arizona State beat Arizona, Wake Forest upset Georgia Tech) to become bowl-eligible.

Arizona State

After a 2-3 start that included a 48-17 pasting by a lackluster Notre Dame team, the Sun Devils turned things around and most likely saved Snyder's job. Arizona State will be without starting QB Ryan Kealy, who is recovering from a knee injury suffered against Arizona. Sophomore John Leonard has a better arm and more experience than junior Griffin Goodman, but Snyder likes Goodman's maturity. Both could play. RBs J.R. Redmond (108.5 rushing yards per game) and Delvon Flowers (6.5 yards per attempt) will take some heat off the quarterbacks. DE Erik Flowers had 10 sacks, and LB Adam Archuleta led the team with 102 tackles, 21 for a loss.

Wake Forest

Caldwell also improved his job security with the bowl bid, and like the Sun Devils, the Demon Deacons will run the ball. RB Morgan Kane rushed for 1,211 yards, including 224 against Georgia Tech, and 10 TDs. QB Ben Sankey also likes to run and was the second-leading rusher on the team with 405 yards. But the Demon Deacons' strong defense helps them overcome their problems putting points on the board. Only Florida State was better defensively in the ACC this season, and Wake Forest allowed only 18.7 points per game.

Oahu Bowl

Aloha Stadium, Honolulu

Oregon State vs. Hawaii

Time/TV: 8:30 p.m., ESPN.

Records: Oregon State 7-4 (4-4, fifth in Pac-10); Hawaii 8-4 (5-2, Western Athletic Conference co-champion).

Coaches: Oregon State, Dennis Erickson; Hawaii, June Jones.

Payout: $800,000 per team.

Of note: Erickson and Jones, two former NFL coaches, resurrected slumbering programs this season. The Beavers are making their first bowl appearance since the 1965 Rose Bowl. They haven't won a bowl game since a 6-0 win over Villanova in the 1962 Liberty Bowl. Hawaii entered this season with an 18-game losing streak and has been to only two bowl games in school history.

Oregon State

The Beavers won four of their last five games, allowing only 72 points over that span. Oregon State led the Pac-10 in pass defense, allowing 191.3 yards per game and giving up only eight passing TDs. Offensively, RB Ken Simonton rushed for 1,329 yards to become the first running back in school history to rush for 1,000 yards in a season twice in his career. But the Beavers relied too heavily on Simonton to carry the load, as he got the ball on 32 percent of Oregon State's plays. LB Jonathan Jackson, FS Terrence Carroll, SS Jake Cookus and LB Darnell Robinson combined for 10 interceptions and are a big reason why teams have trouble passing against the Beavers.


Since Hawaii defensive coordinator Greg McMackin served under Erickson at Miami and with the Seattle Seahawks, the Rainbows' defense should be prepared to face anything Oregon State throws at them. McMackin will leave after today's game to become associate head coach and defensive coordinator at Texas Tech. Senior QB Dan Robinson holds at least a part of 29 school records and threw for 3,853 yards and 28 TDs this season, but he also had 18 interceptions. LB Jeff Ulbrich had 169 tackles and eight sacks this season, but the Rainbows gave up 186.6 rushing yards per game to rank 91st in the country.

Blue-Gray All-Star Classic

Cramton Bowl, Montgomery, Ala.

Time/TV: Noon, WJLA-7, WMAR-2.

Coaches: Blue -- Walt Harris, Pittsburgh, and Randy Walker, Northwestern; Gray -- Tommy Tuberville, Auburn, and Carl Franks, Duke.

Local players: Blue -- C Terrence Anderson, Navy; OG Jamie Wu, Maryland; DB Jerry Porter, West Virginia (Coolidge High). Gray -- WR Travis Williams, Navy.