Conference expansion means many things: new schools, new rivalries, new divisions and, as it turns out, a new logo.

The ACC -- which this year added Miami and Virginia Tech, and next year welcomes Boston College -- yesterday unveiled its new seal and new names for the two football divisions that will be used for the first time next year.

The logo follows the concept the conference has used for years -- a graphic of the Eastern Seaboard -- but it now extends north to New England to accommodate the Eagles.

The divisional alignments were determined last fall, when the conference officially invited Boston College as its 12th member, but had only been known as Division A and Division B to this point.

Now, they have catchy nicknames. The Atlantic Division will consist of Maryland, Boston College, Clemson, Florida State, North Carolina State and Wake Forest. The Coastal Division will be Virginia, Duke, Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina and Virginia Tech.

Each team will play the other teams in its division every year, and also face a "permanent partner" from the opposite division annually. For instance, Maryland and Virginia are in opposite divisions, but will meet every year because they are permanent partners. The other partnerships: Virginia Tech-Boston College, Georgia Tech-Clemson, Miami-Florida State, North Carolina-N.C. State and Duke-Wake Forest.

The champions of each division will meet next season in the conference's first football championship game, to be held in Jacksonville, Fla. The divisions won't be used for basketball.

-- Barry Svrluga