Johns Hopkins senior Kyle Harrison and Duke junior Katie Chrest won the Tewaaraton Trophy for the top men's and women's players in college lacrosse last night at the National Geographic's Grosvenor Auditorium.

Among the men's finalists was Georgetown senior defensive midfielder Brodie Merrill. Virginia senior attack Amy Appelt, who won the trophy last year, and Princeton senior attack Lindsey Biles (Severn) were among the women's finalists.

Harrison, a midfielder, had 24 goals and 20 assists in leading the Blue Jays to the national title for the first time in 18 years, the longest period without a title since the school began playing the sport in 1883. They defeated Duke, 9-8, in the championship on Monday.

"Coach [Dave] Pietramala and [offensive coordinator] Seth Tierney saw something in me that I didn't see in myself," Harrison said. "They saw the potential for me to be a good lacrosse player when I didn't think I could be. This [award] is because the coaches pushed me every day in practice."

Harrison said the team has received a warm response since winning the title.

"The guys [former players] didn't wait to call or send e-mails, a lot of them were at the game," he said. "Some of them came up to us and were crying when they hugged us. An elderly woman just came up and hugged me, she said she went to Hopkins but never played lacrosse, she was just so happy for us. I am so proud to be a part of the Hopkins lacrosse team."

Chrest, also a midfielder, had 70 goals, 26 assists, 50 ground balls and 54 draw controls as Duke won the ACC title for the first time and advanced to the national semifinals.

The award, sponsored by the University Club, is in its fifth year.

"This award can only help our sport grow," Pietramala said. "It adds to the character within the sport."

-- Christian Swezey