Senior Lucas Caparelli scored on a four-yard run with 2 minutes 34 seconds left in the game to break a tie and give No. 1 Robinson a 21-14 victory over host Herndon in a Virginia AAA Concorde District game last night.

Caparelli's run capped a 47-yard drive, which also featured a 34-yard run by junior running back Mike Meier. An interception by senior linebacker Jack Curtis in final minutes then secured the win for Robinson (4-0, 1-0).

Robinson had outscored its first three opponents 190-20, but Herndon took a 7-0 lead in the first quarter on a 44-yard pass from Zay Lopez to Matt Seeger. After allowing two Rams touchdowns, the Hornets (3-1, 0-1) tied the game at 14 on a 55-yard run by Chris Thompson. Thompson finished with 99 yards on 11 carries, giving him 426 yards this season.

Caparelli finished with 71 yards on 15 carries for Robinson.

Two for One at Northwest

Josh Volpe threw for one touchdown and Dexter Korto rushed for another as the quarterback tandem helped host Northwest to a 25-16 victory over previously undefeated Gaithersburg in a Montgomery 4A West game before 2,000 in Germantown.

"You can't draft your players and there is no free agency," said Northwest Coach Randy Trivers, whose team won the Maryland 3A title last season with the All-Met Offensive Player of the Year, Ike Whitaker, playing at quarterback as a senior. "You see what you have and shape your personnel to what you have. They're being productive and the main thing is we're getting in the end zone."

For the Jaguars (3-1), that means using two quarterbacks, one who excels at passing, another who thrives at running. A junior who played mainly on the junior varsity last season, Volpe completed 8 of 13 attempts last night for 71 yards, though he had three passes dropped, including one that Gaithersburg (3-1) intercepted.

Korto showed his ability on the second snap he took, running 31 yards out of a shotgun formation. Korto finished with 42 yards on four carries and did not attempt a pass; on defense, he had two sacks and forced a fumble.

-- Ben Horn and Josh Barr