Pay no attention to those stuffy official postseason awards being handed out by MLS over the next few weeks. Here is all you need to know about the league's 10th season:

MVP: San Jose midfielder Dwayne De Rosario. Who? He's not American, not from Europe, not from Latin America. MLS's best player this year is a converted forward who was born in Ontario, has family roots in Guyana, suits up for Canada's national team and once played for the minor league Richmond Kickers.

Rookie of the Year: New England's Michael Parkhurst and United's Bobby Boswell were the early front-runners, but then the scoring exploits of Kansas City's Scott Sealy and Chicago's Chris Rolfe pushed them ahead. But Boswell's minutes dried up and Sealy and Rolfe stopped scoring, leaving Parkhurst as the winner. He played every minute of the season.

Coach: San Jose's Dominic Kinnear -- who overcame the offseason loss of several starters, including Landon Donovan, and an in-season injury bug -- assembled a finely tuned lineup that hasn't lost in more than three months.

Biggest Surprises: Expansion Real Salt Lake's attendance (second best with an average of 18,037) and little-known L.A. forward Herculez Gomez (11 goals in his first full season).

Biggest Disappointments: Chivas USA (four victories in 32 games) and Real Salt Lake's Clint Mathis (three goals in 27 starts).

Best Goals: De Rosario's bending, rising free kick from 30 yards last weekend in Los Angeles; Freddy Adu's solo run in Salt Lake City two weeks ago; and Carlos Ruiz's bicycle kick at RFK Stadium in May.

Wildest Game: The MetroStars' 5-4 victory over New England in September in which seven goals were scored in a 35-minute span.

-- Steven Goff