Joe Cannon had 14 saves and made a diving stop of Roberto Mina's shot in the fifth round of the penalty-kick shootout last night to help Colorado beat host FC Dallas and advance to the Major League Soccer Western Conference final.

The Rapids won the first shootout in MLS playoff history, 5-4, after the teams played to a 1-1 tie in regulation and then traded goals in the first of two 15-minute overtimes.

Last week's first game of the aggregate-goals series ended in a 0-0 tie in Denver.

After Cannon's save, Jean Phillipe-Peguero placed his penalty shot into the left corner of the FC Dallas net for the deciding score.

* GALAXY 1, EARTHQUAKES 1: Visiting Los Angeles reached the Western Conference final, advancing on aggregate goals in the two-game series. The Galaxy, which won the opening game 3-1 at home last Sunday, will play Colorado in the one-game final on Friday or Saturday.

San Jose was the Western Conference regular season champion. The announced attendance of 17,824 was the largest in San Jose's playoff history.

* REVOLUTION 3, METROSTARS 1: Jose Cancela, Patrick Noonan and Khano Smith scored in the second half, helping host New England clinch a berth in the Eastern Conference final. New England needed to win by at least two goals to advance on aggregate scoring after losing to the MetroStars, 1-0, last week.

The MetroStars took a 1-0 lead when Youri Djorkaeff scored in the 59th minute from 18 yards out, but Cancela tied it in the 68th minute before Noonan scored in the 73rd minute for the lead. Smith scored in the 83rd minute.

New England will face the winner of today's game between D.C. United and the Chicago Fire in the other conference semifinal series.

* ENGLAND: Chelsea beat Blackburn, 4-2, in the Premier League to extend its unbeaten streak to 40 matches, while Arsenal rallied to tie, 1-1, with north London rival Tottenham. Wigan beat Fulham, 1-0, to continue its surprising run in its debut season in the league. Its sixth consecutive win lifted it to second in the standings. Chelsea has 31 points, followed by Wigan (22) and Tottenham (20).