George Washington's Kim Beckand Jessica Adairwere selected to the all-Atlantic 10 Conference women's basketball first team, the league announced yesterday. Beck also was named the defensive player of the year, and Joe McKeownearned coach of the year honors for the fifth time.

Joining Beck and Adair on the first team were Temple's Kamesha Hairston, Xavier's Amber Harrisand La Salle's Carlene Hightower. Hairston became the third consecutive player from Temple to be chosen as the player of the year.

GW's Sarah-Jo Lawrencewas a second-team pick, and teammate Kenan Colewas a third-team and all-academic team selection. Whitney Allenjoined Beck on the all-defensive team.

The eighth-ranked Colonials finished the Atlantic 10 season undefeated and are the top seed in the upcoming conference tournament. . . .

Virginia's Monica Wright(Forest Park) was a unanimous selection for ACC rookie of the year. Wright becomes the fifth Cavalier to earn the honor, joining Dawn Staley, Tora Suber, Schuye LaRueand Brandi Teamer.

"Monica has been everything to us," Coach Debbie Ryansaid. "She's had to take on a tremendous amount of responsibility. We are very proud and pleased that she has received this honor." . . .

Navy's Carly Meyerwas selected to the all-Patriot League first team. Other first-team selections included Bucknell's Hope Foster(Dunbar) and Amanda Brown, Holy Cross's Kaitlin Foleyand Army's Cara Enright. American's Liz Hayesand Army's Alex McGuire(Arundel) were second-team picks.

-- Kathy Orton