House Speaker John Boehner (Ohio) announces a deal with Democrats at the United States Capitol on April 8. (Jahi Chikwendiu/WASHINGTON POST)

The one-week stopgap passed the House at 12:40 a.m. on a 348-to-70 vote, with 208 Republicans and 140 Democrats voting in favor and 28 Republicans and 42 Democrats opposed. Fourteen lawmakers did not vote.

The measure – the eighth short-term funding bill this fiscal year – will keep the government running through April 15. According to the House Appropriations Committee, the nearly $2 billion in cuts will be made to transportation and housing programs. The vast majority, $1.5 billion, would be cut from High Speed Rail Corridors and Intercity Passenger Rail Service Capital Assistance.

In addition, $280 million would be cut from Capital Investment Grants, $149 million would be trimmed from the Public Housing Operating fund and $25 million would be cut from the University Community Fund.

“Mr. Speaker, I guarantee the final legislation will rein in federal spending, and this (funding measure) keeps us on track to cut excessive federal spending as we continue to finalize a deal,” House Appropriations Committee Chairman Hal Rogers (R-Ky.) said in a statement on the House floor early Saturday morning.

Of the 28 Republicans voting against the one-week stopgap, 16 were freshmen, including Rep. Tim Scott (R-S.C.), who is one of two freshmen serving on the leadership team.

That means that 71 of the 87 freshmen -- nearly 82 percent – voted in favor of the one-week funding measure. (Worth watching will be how many of those freshmen will vote for next week’s longer-term funding bill.)

The 42 House Democrats who voted against the one-week stopgap were mostly liberal Democrats. Only one member of leadership, Rep. John Larson (D-Conn.), voted against the measure. (Worth noting is that in contrast to votes on the previous two short-term funding bills, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Minority Whip Steny Hoyer (D-Md.) both voted “yes” on the latest stopgap.)

On the Senate side, only two members voiced opposition to the one-week stopgap: Sen. Jim Risch (R-Idaho), who shouted “No!” on the House floor when the voice vote was taken, and Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.), who was not in the chamber during the vote but who later expressed his opposition in a statement.

The full list of 28 House Republicans voting against the stopgap measure is below (freshmen are denoted with asterisks).

Justin Amash (Mich.)*

Michele Bachmann (Minn.)

Joe Barton (Texas)

Paul Broun (Ga.)

Quico Canseco (Texas)*

Steve Chabot (Ohio)*

Jason Chaffetz (Utah)

Jeff Duncan (S.C.)*

Louie Gohmert (Texas)

Trey Gowdy (S.C.)*

Tom Graves (Ga.)

Andy Harris (Md.)*

Tim Huelskamp (Kan.)*

Tim Johnson (Ill.)

Jim Jordan (Ohio)

Steve King (Iowa)

Raul Labrador (Idaho)*

Billy Long (Mo.)*

Connie Mack (Fla.)

Thaddeus McCotter (Mich.)

Mick Mulvaney (S.C.)*

Steven Palazzo (Miss.)*

Steve Pearce (N.M.)*

Scott Rigell (Va.)*

Tim Scott (S.C.)*

Steve Southerland (Fla.)*

Joe Walsh (Ill.)*

Joe Wilson (S.C.)