Rep. Dan Boren (D-Okla.) (Linda Davidson/The Washington Post)

The five Democrats are either retiring from Congress after this year or facing in­cred­ibly difficult reelection contests in Republican-leaning districts.

So which Democrats voted to repeal the health law? Let’s take a look, with the help of The Washington Post’s Congressional Votes Database:


Final vote count: 244 to 185. Three members did not vote — House Speaker John A. Boehner (R-Ohio), who traditionally does not vote, and Reps. Jo Bonner (R-Ala.) and Jesse Jackson Jr. (D-Ill.), who were absent. Currently there are three vacant seats in the 435-member chamber.

Five Democrats voted to repeal the law:

Dan Boren (D-Okla.)

Larry Kissell (D-N.C.)

Jim Matheson (D-Utah)

Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.)

Mike Ross (D-Ark.)

The five Democrats voted against the original Affordable Care Act when it was passed in March 2010. Of the five, Boren and Ross are retiring, while Kissell and McIntyre face in­cred­ibly difficult races in Republican-leaning districts and don’t plan to endorse President Obama’s reelection campaign. Matheson also faces a tough reelection against Republican Mia Love, who would be the first black GOP woman to serve in Congress if she wins.

All five lawmakers also were among the 17 Democrats who voted with Republicans two weeks ago to hold Attorney General Eric H. Holder Jr. in contempt of Congress.

Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Follow Ed O’Keefe on Twitter: @edatpost

More from PostPolitics: