Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley has named the members of his Redistricting Task Force, and no one should be surprised by its composition.

l Jeanne D. Hitchcock will serve as chair of Task Force. Hitchcock is O’Malley’s secretary of appointments. Prior to joining the governor’s office, she served as deputy mayor to then-Mayor Martin O’Malley.

l Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr., Maryland Senate president since 1987 and a veteran of past redistricting efforts in 1991 and 2001.

l Michael E. Busch, Maryland speaker of the House since 2003.

l James King, a member of the House of Delegates from 2007 to 2011. King is a Republican, but he sided with O’Malley in the past, specifically on the issue of a slots referendum.

l Richard Stewart, president and chief executive officer of Montgomery Mechanical Services Incorporated.

This Task Force is decidedly Democratic, and regardless of O’Malley’s promise that the task force will develop a map that represents the diversity of Maryland, this will be a decidedly partisan affair. The only thing represented will be the interests of Martin O’Malley and the state Democratic Party.

Recent Census data shows that Maryland’s population has grown, but more important to the redistricting process, it has grown more in some congressional Districts than others. This means the redistricting Task Force must balance out the district populations such that each district has roughly 721,000 people.

[Continue reading Todd Eberly’s post at The FreeStater Blog.]

Todd Eberly blogs at The FreeStaterBlog. The Local Blog Network is a group of bloggers from around the D.C. region who have agreed to make regular contributions to All Opinions Are Local.