The Washington Post

Deborah Eisenberg named winner of the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Deborah Eisenberg was chosen as the winner of the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for her volume, “The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg.”

Author Deborah Eisenberg poses for a portrait at her home in New York, Thursday, October 15, 2009. (Charles Sykes/AP)

Eisenberg was selected by the judges for the PEN/Faulkner Foundation, which is administered by the Folger Shakespeare Library. The prize comes with a $15,000 award and is given at a dinner ceremony on May 7.

Judging 320 novels and short story submissions this year were Laura Furman, William Kittridge and Helena Maria Viramontes.

In a statement Tuesday, Furman said, “From the first to the last of her collected stories, Deborah Eisenberg demonstrates her sharp intelligence, literary inventiveness, and her clear understanding of human interconnectedness as it exists in isolation. Eisenberg’s reader often has the feeling that her characters don’t quite understand either who they are or how they got themselves into their present fix.”

Previous winners were Sherman Alexie, Joseph O’Neill, E.L. Doctorow, John Updike and John Edgar Wideman, among others.


Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
Be a man and cry
Deaf banjo player teaches thousands
Sleep advice you won't find in baby books
Play Videos
Drawing as an act of defiance
A flood of refugees from Syria but only a trickle to America
Chicago's tacos, four ways
Play Videos
What you need to know about filming the police
What you need to know about trans fats
Syrian refugee: 'I’m committed to the power of music'
Play Videos
Riding the X2 with D.C.'s most famous rapper
Full disclosure: 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 1 ghoul
Europe's migrant crisis, explained