The Washington Post

Helen Hayes Awards to celebrate D.C. theater

The Big Party in D.C. theater happens Monday night as the 28th annual Helen Hayes Awards get handed out at the Warner Theatre. The ceremony, traditionally a high-gloss awards show affair, celebrates the best of last year’s professionally-produced plays and musicals. Shows with hopes in multiple categories include Synetic Theatre’s “King Lear” (15 nominations), Signature Theatre’s “Hairspray” and Adventure Theatre’s “A Year With Frog and Toad” (nine each), and Folger Theatre’s “Cyrano” and Studio Theatre 2ndStage’s “Pop!” (seven each).

View Photo Gallery: See who’s in the running to receive Washington’s biggest theater award this year.

Local actors Holly Twyford and Felicia Curry are slated to co-host, with Kevin Spacey on hand to receive a career tribute. The event starts at 8 p.m., and tickets (not cheap — it’s a gala) may still be available at Theatre Washington.

First Post byline, 1992; covering theater for the Post since 1999. His book "American Playwriting and the Anti-Political Prejudice" came out in 2014.


Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
Be a man and cry
Deaf banjo player teaches thousands
Sleep advice you won't find in baby books
Play Videos
Drawing as an act of defiance
A flood of refugees from Syria but only a trickle to America
Chicago's tacos, four ways
Play Videos
What you need to know about filming the police
What you need to know about trans fats
Syrian refugee: 'I’m committed to the power of music'
Play Videos
Riding the X2 with D.C.'s most famous rapper
Full disclosure: 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 1 ghoul
Europe's migrant crisis, explained