The Washington Post

Will Ferrell's Kennedy Center tribute performers revealed: Paul Rudd, Conan O'Brien and more


GALLERY: Click the image above to view more images of Will Ferrell.

The Kennedy Center is rolling out the red-carpet announcements of who will be feting Will Ferrell when he receives the 14th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor next month.

Among those on hand to celebrate — and likely roast — Ferrell will be entertainers Conan O’Brien, Paul Rudd, Jack Black, John C. Reilly and Larry King, as well as “Saturday Night Live” colleagues Lorne Michaels (recipient of the 2004 Twain Prize), Maya Rudolph, Molly Shannon and Ferrell’s writing partner/ co-founder, Adam McKay, the center announced today.

The pop/punk band Green Day is scheduled to be musical guest.

Ferrell became a star during his seven seasons on “SNL,” with characters ranging from Craig the Spartan cheerleader to his impressions of “Jeopardy!” host Alex Trebek, “Inside the Actors’ Studio” host James Lipton and President George W. Bush. After supporting roles in such films as “Zoolander”and “Austin Powers,” Ferrell became a marquee name at the movies with such comedies as “Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy,” “Old School,” “Elf,” “Blades of Glory,” “The Other Guys” and “Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby.”

Ferrell has won the American Comedy Award and has received Emmy, Tony and Golden Globe nominations.

In 1998, Richard Pryor became the first person to receive the Twain Prize, which honors people who have made significant contributions to American humor.

Ferrell, 44, is the Prize’s second-youngest recipient; “SNL” alumna Tina Fey was 40 when she received the award last fall.

The ceremony will be Oct. 23 at 7:30 p.m. at the center’s Concert Hall, and will air on Halloween on PBS stations.

Writer/artist/visual storyteller Michael Cavna is creator of the "Comic Riffs" column and graphic-novel reviewer for The Post's Book World. He relishes sharp-eyed satire in most any form.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read

Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing