Update 11:07 a.m.: Jason Chimera will not receive any supplementary discipline for the hit on Boston’s Adam McQuaid, according to a league spokesman.
The league took into account the fact that McQuaid turned toward the boards immediately prior to Chimera making contact with him. Also, players have not received suspensions for charging unless they left their feet, launching themselves, during the hit.
For those wondering why Chimera received a game misconduct on the play, it is automatic under Rule 42.5, which says that “when a major penalty is imposed under this rule (charging) for a foul resulting in an injury to the face or head of an opponent, a game misconduct shall be imposed.”
Original post: In addition to the late fireworks in the Capitals’ 3-2 shootout win over the Boston Bruins on Thursday, there were a few early hurdles for them to overcome as well: Tomas Vokoun leaving the game with an injury and winger Jason Chimera earning a five-minute major penalty for charging as well as a game misconduct.
Adam McQuaid went to play the puck behind the Bruins’ net s14 minutes into the game when Chimera laid a shoulder check into the blue-liner, sending him headfirst into the boards. Replays showed McQuaid, who did not return to the game and has a history of concussions, turned toward the glass immediately prior to Chimera making contact with him.
“The guy turned at the last second,” Coach Dale Hunter said. “So it’s tough on the refs, I know that. It’s one of those things that it’s tough for Chimmer to stop but you’ve got to keep playing on. No sense in arguing calls made and move on.”
Chimera joined the scratched players in the press box after being ejected from the contest but declined to comment on the play. It seems unlikely Chimera would face a disciplinary hearing with Brendan Shanahan, the NHL’s vice president of player safety.
Bruins Coach Claude Julien said he didn’t believe Chimera intended to injure McQuaid on the play.
“He came off the bench and he was going hard, and maybe it was a little bit reckless, but there’s no doubt in my mind that it wasn’t intentional,” Julien said. “Mac just turned at the last second and, you know, put himself in a bit of a vulnerable position. But still, I agree with the referee’s call. . . . It was a tough one, but it certainly wasn’t intent to injure by the player in my mind.”
More on Capitals vs. Bruins: