Lilli Carré and Michael DeForge continue to have banner years.

Both gifted cartoonists saw their stellar runs of recognition continue Thursday: They are triple nominees for 2013 Ignatz Awards, the Small Press Expo is announcing this afternoon.

(by LILLI CARRE / Fantagraphics /. )

Carré — who has also been up for Eisner and Harvey awards this year — is Ignatz-nominated for Outstanding Artist, and her work “Heads or Tails” is up for Outstanding Story and Outstanding Anthology/Collection.

DeForge, the author of “Very Casual,” will compete against Carré in the Artist and Anthology/Collection categories; he also received a nod for Outstanding Series (“Lose”). (DeForge received an Eisner nom earlier this year for his digital “Ant Comic.”)

Also receiving three nods is rising cartoonist Sam Alden, who is up for Promising New Talent on the strength of his nominated minicomic (“Hawaii 1997”) and online comic (“Haunter”).

Other multiple nominees include Ulli Lust, for Outstanding Artist and Outstanding Graphic Novel (“Today Is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life”); “Pope Hats” cartoonist Ethan Rilly, for Outstanding Series and Outstanding Comic; and “Looking Out” creator Philippa Rice, for Outstanding Comic and Promising New Talent.

Lust is part of an interesting twist: All five Outstanding Graphic Novel nominees are women; last year, by contrast, all five were men.

Small Press Expo’s Ignatz Award — named, of course, for George

(courtesy of Small Press Expo /.)

“Krazy Kat” Herriman’s classic character — recognizes excellence and outstanding achievement in independent comics. SPX began handing ot the festival prize in 1997, and it has become one of top awards in all of indie comics.

This year’s nominating jurors were Dustin Harbin, Damien Jay, Sakura Maku , Jason Shiga and special guest Lisa Hanawalt.

The ever-growing Small Press Expo will be Sept. 14-15 at the Marriott Bethesda North in suburban Washington. The Ignatz ceremony, on the expo’s first night, will be hosted by special guest Liza Donnelly.

Here is your full list of 2013 Ignatz nominees, including special guests Rutu Modan and Peter Bagge:

Outstanding Artist

Lilli Carre, Heads or Tails
Michael DeForge, Lose #4
Miriam Katin, Letting It Go
Ulli Lust, Today Is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life
Patrick McEown, Hair Shirt

(courtesy of Small Press Expo/.)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Freddie Stories, Lynda Barry
Heads or Tails, Lille Carré
Peter Bagge's Other Stuff, Peter Bagge
Stark #1, Tusen Hjartan
Very Casual, Michael DeForge

(courtesy of SMALL PRESS EXPO/,)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
The Property, Rutu Modan
Susceptible, Genevieve Castree
Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life, Ulli Lust
When David Lost His Voice, Judith Vanistendael
You’ll Never Know Vol. 3: A Soldier’s Heart, Carol Tyler

Outstanding Story
"Arid" (Secret Prison #7), Tom Hart
Birdseye Bristoe, Dan Zettwoch
"The Carnival" (Heads or Tails), Lilli Carre
Gold Star, John Martz
“Neighbors" (Stark #1), Joanna Hellgren

Promising New Talent
Sam Alden, Hawaii 1997, and Haunter
Nathan Bulmer, Eat More Bikes
Philippa Rice, Looking Out
Diana Thung, August Moon
Angie Wang, "The Teacup Tree" (Secret Prison #7)

Outstanding Series
The Hive, Charles Burns
Lose, Michael DeForge
Madtown High, Whit Taylor
Pope Hats, Ethan Rilly
Prison Pit, Johnny Ryan

Outstanding Comic
Hyperspeed to Nowhere 2: Return to Entropy, Lale Westvind
The Life Problem, Austin English
Looking Out, Philippa Rice
Pope Hats #3, Ethan Rilly
St. Owl's Bay, Simon Hanselmann

Outstanding Minicomic
The End of the F- - - - - - World: Part 16, Charles Forsman
Il Cammino Delle Capre, Kris Mukai and Zachary Zezima
Hawaii 1997, Sam Alden
Layaway, Joseph Lambert
Powdered Milk Vol.10: The Man Who Could Not Read, Keiler Roberts

Outstanding Online Comic
Bird Boy, Annie Szabla
Haunter, Sam Alden
Gabby's Playhouse, Ken Dahl/Gabby Schulz:
July Diary, Gabrielle Bell
SuperMutant Magic Academy, Jillian Tamaki.