Inés Estrada, Jaime Hernandez, Anders Nilsen, Ethan Rilly and Matthew Thurber are among the multiple nominees for the esteemed 2012 Ignatz Award, the Small Press Expo announced Monday morning.

Also competing in multiple categories are Tessa Brunton and Lale Westvind — who will go head to head for the Promising New Talent award.

This year’s Ignatz jurors were Edie Fake, Minty Lewis, Dylan Meconis, Lark Pien and Julia Wertz.

The 2012 expo will be Sept. 15-16 in North Bethesda.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Outstanding Artist

Marc Bell – “Pure Pajamas” (Drawn & Quarterly)

Inés Estrada — “Ojitos Borrosos” (Self-published)

Jaime Hernandez — “Love and Rockets / New Stories” (Fantagraphics)

Craig Thompson — “Habibi” (Pantheon)

Matthew Thurber — “1 800 Mice” (Picturebox)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection

“Big Questions,” Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)

“Hark! A Vagrant,” Kate Beaton (Drawn & Quarterly)

“The Man Who Grew His Beard,” Olivier Schrauwen (Fantagraphics)

“Nobrow #6,” Various artists” (Nobrow)

“Ojitos Borrosos,” Inés Estrada (Self-published)

Outstanding Graphic Novel

“Big Questions,” by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)

“Harvey Pekar’s Cleveland,” by Harvey Pekar and Joseph Remnant (Top Shelf)

“My Friend Dahmer,” by Derf Backderf (Abrams ComicArts)

“Troop 142,” by Mike Dawson (Secret Acres)

“A Zoo in Winter,” by Jiro Taniguchi (Fanfare/Ponent Mon)

Outstanding Story

“1 800 Mice,” by Matthew Thurber (Picturebox)

“Keith or Steve,” Mome #22, by Nick Drnaso (Fantagraphics)

“Lucille,” by Ludovic Debeurme (Top Shelf)

“Return to Me,” Love & Rockets New Stories #4, by Jaime Hernandez


“The Weeper,” Papercutter #17, by Jason Martin and Jesse Reklaw (Tugboat Press)

Promising New Talent

Lauren Barnett — Me Likes You Very Much (Hic & Hoc Publications)

Clara Besijelle — The Lobster King (Self-published)

Tessa Brunton — Passage (Sparkplug Books)

Lila Quintero Weaver — Dark Room: A Memoir in Black and White

Lale Westvind — Hot Dog Beach (Self-published)

Outstanding Series

Black Mass, by Patrick Kyle (MOther Books)

EOTMC, by Leslie Stein (Self-published)

Ganges, by Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics)

Love and Rockets New Stories, by the Hernandez Brothers (Fantagraphics)

Pope Hats, by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse Books)

Outstanding Comic

Hot Dog Beach #2, by Lale Westvind (Self-published)

Passage, by Tessa Brunton (Sparkplug Books)

Pterodactyl Hunters, by Brendan Leach (Top Shelf)

The Sixth Gun #17, by Brian Hurtt and Cullen Bunn (Oni Press)

Pope Hats #2, by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse Books)

Outstanding Mini-Comic

The Death of Elijah Lovejoy, by Noah Van Sciver (2D Cloud)

Hypnotic Induction Technique, by Grant Reynolds (Self-published)

The Monkey in the Basement and Other Delusions, by Corinne Mucha

(Retrofit Comics)

Ramble On #2, by Calvin Wong (Self-published)

RAV #6, by Mickey Zacchilli (Self-published)

Outstanding Online Comic

Amazing Facts...and Beyond! with Leon Beyond, by Dan Zettwoch and Kevin Huizenga

Black Is the Color, by Julia Gfrorer:

Lucky , by Gabrielle Bell

Starslip , by Kris Straub -

SuperMutant Magic Academy , by Jillian Tamaki