Toronto cartoonist Michael DeForge and Chicago-based artist Edie Fake (“Gaylord Phoenix”) have each received three nominations for the Ignatz Awards, the Small Press Expo announced today.

. (Craig Thompson/SPX 2011)

DeForge — a 2010 Doug Wright Award winner (Best Emerging Talent) — creates the ongoing comic series “Lose” (Koyama Press). Fake is nominated for the book “Gaylord Phoenix” (Secret Acres).

Both DeForge and Fake are nominated for Outstanding Artist; in that category, they’ll go up against multiple nominees Joseph Lambert (“I Will Bite You”) and Carol Tyler (“You’ll Never Know, Vol.2: Collateral Damage”), as well as Renee French (“H-Day”).

Fake and Tyler are also nominated for Outstanding Graphic Novel.

The other multiple nominees include Box Brown (“Everything Dies”), Sammy Harkham (“Crickets”), Tony Breed (“Finn and Charlie Are Hitched”), Levon Jihanian (“Danger Country”) and Robert Kirby’s anthology “Three No.1.”

And among the Outstanding Story nominees is Chris Ware (“LINT”), whose Acme Novelty Library comics have won six Ignatz Awards since the honor was first presented in 1997.

The Ignatz Awards — an honor named for George Herriman’s “Krazy Kat” character — will be presented at SPX 2011, during the weekend of Sept. 10-11 in North Bethesda. The winners are determined by a vote of SPX attendees.

Click through below to view the full list of nominees:

MORE: “HARK! A WINNER”: 5 Highlights from SPX 2010

MORE: RALL TO RAINA: 5 Highlights from SPX 2009

Outstanding Artist

Michael DeForge, Lose #3 (Koyama Press)

Edie Fake, Gaylord Phoenix (Secret Acres)

Renee French, H-Day (Picturebox)

Joseph Lambert, I Will Bite You (Secret Acres)

Carol Tyler, You’ll Never Know, Vol 2: Collateral Damage (Fantagraphics)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection

Black Eye, edited by Ryan Standfest (Rotland Press)

Gay Genius, edited by Annie Murphy (Sparkplug)

I Will Bite You, Joseph Lambert (Secret Acres)

Make Me a Woman, Vanessa Davis (Drawn & Quarterly)

Three #1, edited by Robert Kirby

Outstanding Story

“Blood of the Virgin,” Crickets #3, Sammy Harkham (self-published)

“Browntown,” Love and Rockets: New Stories No. 3, Jaime Hernandez (Fantagraphics)

“LINT,” Acme Novelty Library #20, Chris Ware (Drawn & Quarterly)

“The most gripping mind-exploding triumphantly electric of our time,” Papercutter #15, Jonas Madden-Conner (Tugboat Press)

“Weekends Abroad,” Three #1, Eric Orner (self-published)

Outstanding Series

Crickets, Sammy Harkham (self-published)

Dungeon Quest, Joe Daly (Fantagraphics Books)

Everything Dies, Box Brown

Lose, Michael DeForge (Koyama Books)

Reich, Elijah Brubaker (Sparkplug Comic Books)

Outstanding Comic

Crickets #3, Sammy Harkham (self-published)

Danger Country #1, Levon Jihanian

Habitat #2, Dunja Jankovic

Lose #3, Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)

The Magic Hedge, Marian Runk

Outstanding Online Comic

Alphabet Horror , Nate Marsh

A Cartoonist’s Diary , Pascal Girard

Hark! A Vagrant , Kate Beaton

Finn and Charlie are Hitched , Tony Breed

Lucky , Gabrielle Bell

Outstanding Graphic Novel

Gaylord Phoenix, Edie Fake (Secret Acres)

The Heavy Hand, Chris Cilla (Sparkplug)

Hereville: How Mirka Got Her Sword, Barry Deutsch (Amulet Books)

Special Exits, Joyce Farmer (Fantagraphics)

You’ll Never Know, Vol 2: Collateral Damage, Carol Tyler (Fantagraphics)

Promising New Talent

Tony Breed, Finn and Charlie Are Hitched (self-published/online)

Darryl Ayo Brathwaite, House of Twelve Monthly #3 (Comixology)

Jesse Jacobs, Even the Giants (AdHouse)

Jon McNaught, Birchfield Close (Nobrow)

Jesse Moynihan, Forming (Nobrow/online)

Outstanding Mini-Comic

Ben Died of a Train, Box Brown

Gaylord Phoenix #5, Edie Fake

Danger Country #1, Levon Jihanian

Morning Song, Laura Terry

Trans-Utopia, Tom Kaczynski (Uncivilized Books)