The Washington Post

THIS JUST IN: 2013 Eisner Hall of Fame noms announced; Meskin, Rodriguez inducted [voting now open]

GOLDEN AGE great Mort Meskin and underground comix pioneer Spain Rodriguez have been inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame, Comic-Con International has just announced.

The two comics creators are automatic inductions of six 2013 judges (and yes, in full disclosure, Comic Riffs was one of the six).



The jurors also nominated 13 comics/cartooning figures for Hall of Fame consideration by online voters. They are:

Marjorie Henderson (“Marge”) Buell; Howard Cruse; Lee Falk; Bud Fisher; Bill Griffith; Al Jaffee; Jesse Marsh; Tarpe Mills; Thomas Nast; Gary Panter; Trina Robbins; Joe Sinnott and Jacques Tardi.

Online voting is open now to professionals in the comics industry. Four nominees will be inducted and honored in July at San Diego Comic-Con, when the Eisners ceremony will be held.

Writer/artist/visual storyteller Michael Cavna is creator of the "Comic Riffs" column and graphic-novel reviewer for The Post's Book World. He relishes sharp-eyed satire in most any form.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing