The Washington Post

Brooks Laich is D.C.’s longest tenured pro athlete

(Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post)

Back with my semi-regular look at the longest-tenured pro athletes in D.C.

The last time I did this, Chris Cooley was in first place. With his release on Tuesday, we have a new grizzled veteran. And four of the 11 leaders from just last March are already gone. (In addition to Cooley, the departed include Alex Semin, Andray Blatche and Rocky McIntosh.) So the new list, as best as I can figure, looks like this.

1. Brooks Laich: Has finished 8 seasons.

2. Ryan Zimmerman: In midst of 8th season.

3. Santana Moss: Starting 8th season.

4. Alex Ovechkin: Has finished 7 seasons.

5. Mike Green: Has finished 7 seasons.

6t. Reed Doughty: Starting 7th season.

6t. Kedric Golston: Starting 7th season.

8. Lorenzo Alexander: Starting 7th season (one on practice squad).

9. Jeff Schultz: Has finished 6 seasons.

10. John Erskine: Has finished 6 seasons.

That’s five Capitals and four Redskins. Chris Pontius, drafted in 2009, is D.C. United’s longest-tenured player. John Wall and friends, drafted in 2010, are the Wizards’ longest-tenured players.

Dan Steinberg writes about all things D.C. sports at the D.C. Sports Bog.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing