(Toni L. Sandys/The Washington Post)

Back with my semi-regular look at the longest-tenured pro athletes in D.C.

The last time I did this, Chris Cooley was in first place. With his release on Tuesday, we have a new grizzled veteran. And four of the 11 leaders from just last March are already gone. (In addition to Cooley, the departed include Alex Semin, Andray Blatche and Rocky McIntosh.) So the new list, as best as I can figure, looks like this.

1. Brooks Laich: Has finished 8 seasons.

2. Ryan Zimmerman: In midst of 8th season.

3. Santana Moss: Starting 8th season.

4. Alex Ovechkin: Has finished 7 seasons.

5. Mike Green: Has finished 7 seasons.

6t. Reed Doughty: Starting 7th season.

6t. Kedric Golston: Starting 7th season.

8. Lorenzo Alexander: Starting 7th season (one on practice squad).

9. Jeff Schultz: Has finished 6 seasons.

10. John Erskine: Has finished 6 seasons.

That’s five Capitals and four Redskins. Chris Pontius, drafted in 2009, is D.C. United’s longest-tenured player. John Wall and friends, drafted in 2010, are the Wizards’ longest-tenured players.