The Washington Post

Metro board to see changes this year

Metro’s board of directors will see changes this year.

Mary Hynes, the voting member to the Metro board from Arlington County, is stepping down to a non-voting seat. Jeff McKay, the alternate representative from Fairfax County, is stepping down to make room for James Dyke, a Northern Virginia lawyer who was appointed by Virginia Gov. Robert F. McDonnell to the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission, which appoints representatives to the Metro board.

The changes to the Metro board will go into effect Jan. 12 when Dyke is expected to be sworn in.

Hynes, who has served as a voting member since January 2011, said Friday that it was "hard" to have to move from a voting seat to a non-voting seat.

"We’re trying to make the best of what we view as a not-great situation," she said.

The concern, she said, is that Dyke represents Virginia and that the state "has a different priority on funding transit than we do in Arlington."

"Transit is crucial for us," she said. "If it doesn't work, our community shuts down."

She will serve as an alternate to the Metro board, taking the seat of McKay, who has served on the Metro board since 2008.

Cathy Hudgins, chair of the Metro board and a Fairfax County supervisor, said it is "very unfortunate that Fairfax County had to lose a seat," but said the NVTC group has passed a resolution to work together to "coordinate on issues" of transportation.

This post has been updated since it was first published.

Dana Hedgpeth is a Post reporter, working the early morning, reporting on traffic, crime and other local issues.


Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
Don’t be ‘that’ sports parent | On Parenting
Miss Manners: The technology's changed, but the rules are the same
A flood of refugees from Syria but only a trickle to America
Play Videos
John Lewis, 'Marv the Barb' and the politics of barber shops
Kids share best advice from mom
Using Fitbit to help kids lose weight
Play Videos
This man's job is binge-watching for Netflix
Transgender swimmer now on Harvard men's team
Portland's most important meal of the day
Play Videos
5 ways to raise girls to be leaders
How much can one woman eat?
The signature drink of New Orleans