he executives of Maryland and Prince George's County on Monday nominated two new members to Metro's board of directors, as one of the largest turnovers in the history of the board continues.

Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley chose Maryland Port Commissioner Alvin Nichols to fill the seat of Elizabeth Hewlett, who completed her term last summer.

Nichols' career has focused on community development, and he was formerly chief of staff for the Community Investments Group of Fannie Mae's Housing and Community Development Division. He was also the chief administrative officer for business development for Prince George's County, overseeing the county's department of transportation. Nichols must be confirmed by the Maryland senate.

Prince George's County Executive Rushern L. Baker III selected Artis Hampshire-Cowan, senior vice president of Howard University, to becoming the alternate board member for Prince George's County, filling a vacancy. She earlier worked in several positions with the D.C. government. The Prince George's County Council must confirm the nomination of Hampshire-Cowan.

Since December, seven of the 14 members of the Metro board have announced their departure, including several veterans such as Peter Benjamin of Maryland, Chris Zimmerman of Arlington, and Jim Graham of the District.