The Washington Post

Big Ten removes Joe Paterno’s name from championship trophy

The Big Ten trophy no longer carries his name, but the statue of Joe Paterno at Penn State remains. Merrick Briggs, 6, climbed on it last week. (Matt Rourke / AP)

The trophy, given to the winner of the first conference title game Dec. 3, was to have been called the Stagg-Paterno Trophy in honor of Paterno, major college football’s winningest coach, and Stagg, who coached the University of Chicago when it was a founding member of the conference. It will now be the Stagg Championship Trophy, although the two men are tied for the most NCAA games coached at 549.

“We believe that it would be inappropriate to keep Joe Paterno's name on the trophy at this time,” Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said in a statement. “The trophy and its namesake are intended to be celebratory and aspirational, not controversial. We believe that it's important to keep the focus on the players and the teams that will be competing in the inaugural championship game.”

That may be difficult if one of the teams is Penn State.

The latest on the Penn State scandal

Developments: Second Mile president resigns

On Faith: A Second Mile product on his loss of faith in leadership

The Early Lead: On “Saturday Night Live,” the devil weighs in

After spending most of her career in traditional print sports journalism, Cindy began blogging and tweeting, first as NFL/Redskins editor, and, since August 2010, at The Early Lead. She also is the social media editor for Sports.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing