The Washington Post

Marcos Ambrose becomes NASCAR’s fifth first-time winner at Watkins Glen

Marcos Ambrose waves the checkered flag after winning at Watkins Glen. (Chris Graythen / GETTY IMAGES)

Ambrose, who drives for Richard Petty Motorsports, pushed past Brad Keselowski on the next-to-last lap and won the Sprint Cup race at Watkins Glen, N.Y. The race was moved to Monday because of poor weather over the weekend.

“This is almost surreal,” said Ambrose, the fifth first-time Sprint Cup winner this season — the most since 2002. “It’s just a dream come true.”

Ambrose had won three Nationwide races at the Glen. “I've tried for 2½ years," Ambrose said. "We're going to onward and upward from here. It's a proud day.”

Keselowski took second and Kyle Busch was third, followed by Martin Truex Jr., Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Juan Pablo Montoya, A.J. Allmendinger, Jeff Burton and Jimmie Johnson.

Last-lap crashes, which included Tony Stewart, David Reutimann and David Ragan, brought out a yellow caution flag at the end.

After spending most of her career in traditional print sports journalism, Cindy began blogging and tweeting, first as NFL/Redskins editor, and, since August 2010, at The Early Lead. She also is the social media editor for Sports.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing