There will be 10 Major League Baseball playoff teams in 2012, according to Fox Sports. (Jeff Roberson / AP)

Although some “loose ends” remain in negotiations, baseball officials and the MLB Players Association could make an annoucement as early as Thursday, Ken Rosenthal reports. The collective-barganing agreement provides for wild cards to be added in the American and National leagues no later than 2013, but Rosenthal reports that Commissioner Bud Selig wanted to move more quickly, working with the players’ union to expand now.

Two wild-card teams in each league would play a one-game playoff, with the winner advancing to play one of the three division winners. That will require a bit of an adjustment in the schedule, though. Presently, the regular season ends Wednesday, Oct. 3, and the World Series begins Wednesday Oct. 24.