Twitter made some changes to its privacy permissions this week, giving users a little more control over their privacy and a few more hoops to jump through to use a service other than Twitter.
In a blog post earlier this week, the micro-blogging site outlined the changes: Now, users will see a new permissions screen the first time they try to log into a third-party Twitter app.
The screen details everything a given app will access from your account in plain language.
The site also is requiring any app that accesses your direct messages to get explicit permission to do so; apps you’ve already authorized will have to ask again.
While this could be seen as a win for transparency, some developers see this as a way for Twitter to further discourage its users from relying on third-party apps. Making users go to a separate screen instead of letting them sign into the other clients with their Twitter credentials may keep some users in the official Twitter app universe.
Business Insider reported that one Twitter developer thinks the message here is, “Twitter to Ecosystem: Seriously, Stop Making Apps.”
What do you think of Twitter’s new policy? Is it a good move toward transparency or an annoying extra step?