The Washington Post

Nominations being accepted for ‘Sammies’

Diane Braunstein, director of the Social Security Administration’s Compassionate Allowances program, was a 2011 winner of the Service to America Medal. (SAM KITTNER/KITTNER.COM)

The Partnership for Public Service, a nonpartisan think tank devoted to promoting public service, is accepting nominations for the annual Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medal through Jan. 18, the group said Wednesday.

Nine medals, including the prestigious Federal Employee of the Year medal, will be awarded to workers who are determined to have made significant contributions to the country. Other medal categories include Call to Service, Career Achievement, Homeland Security, Justice and Law Enforcement and other categories related to specific government fields.

Adding to the honor, the awards include cash prizes ranging from $3,000 to $10,000.

The Washington Post profiled several of the 2011 winners and finalists. To read the series, click here. (The Post and the Partnership maintain a content-sharing deal.)

Follow Ed O’Keefe on Twitter: @edatpost

Further reading:

Top-notch federal workers honored for their service

For more, visit PostPolitics and The Fed Page.

Ed O’Keefe is covering the 2016 presidential campaign, with a focus on Jeb Bush and other Republican candidates. He's covered presidential and congressional politics since 2008. Off the trail, he's covered Capitol Hill, federal agencies and the federal workforce, and spent a brief time covering the war in Iraq.


Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Video curated for you.