Long marked as a contentious holiday, these cities and states have either replaced Columbus Day with another holiday, or just treat it as a regular Monday. (The Washington Post)

If you’re reading this at work, you’re a resident of one of the unlucky states — more than half of them, in fact — where state workers don’t get this Monday off.

The federal Columbus Day holiday is only recognized in 23 states and Washington, D.C., according to the 2013 Book of States, produced by the Council of State Governments. In Tennessee, it can be swapped for the day after Thanksgiving if the governor so chooses, as he has done this year, according a state health department communique. In South Dakota, which has an 8 percent Native population, the holiday is celebrated as Native Americans Day.

The push to recognize Native Americans instead of Christopher Columbus has gained some ground this year, according to the Associated Press. Minneapolis and Seattle will both mark the day as “Indigenous Peoples’ Day” for the first time on Monday. The holiday has weathered criticism over its celebration of Columbus, who some criticize for ushering in the slavery of native populations in the Americas.

Here’s a look at which states grant Columbus Day as a holiday:

Who celebrates Columbus Day. (Niraj Chokshi, source Book of States, 2013)