Virginia Tech offensive coordinator Bryan Stinespring has been named one of 29 nominees for the 2011 Broyles Award, given annually to college football’s top assistant coach.

Though this is the first season since 2001 that Stinespring hasn’t called the team’s plays (quarterbacks coach Mike O’Cain has taken over that responsibility), Virginia Tech is on pace to pass for more yards than it has since 1972 and, barring injury, running back David Wilson will soon break the school’s record for rushing yards set by Ryan Williams in 2009.

Stinespring, who has taken heat from disgruntled fans over the years, still heads up the Hokies’ game-planning each week. Last year when he was calling the plays, though, Virginia Tech set single-season records for points and total yards.

The Hokies could very well have had both of their coordinators make the nominees list considering the job Bud Foster has done in light of all the injuries his defense has suffered. Though five opening-day starters have missed time because of injury this year, Virginia Tech is No. 10 nationally in scoring defense and No. 12 in total defense. Foster previously won the Broyles Award in 2006.

Joining Stinespring from the ACC on the nominees list were Virginia defensive coordinator Jim Reid, Clemson offensive coordinator Chad Morris and North Carolina defensive coordinator Art Kaufman. The winner will be announced Dec. 6 at a ceremony in Little Rock, Ark.