The Washington Post

Iraq Operation Name Contest: The winners are …

President Obama pauses while speaking about the situation in Iraq on June 19. (Jacquelyn Martin/AP)

When President Obama announced his no boots on the ground operation in Iraq (they’re “advisers”), a member of the armed forces suggested anonymously that the mission be called “Operation Shiite Storm.” So genius and inspired that we posed the question to our brilliant Loop fans: What would be the perfect moniker for our Iraq retread?

And of course you did not disappoint.

So without further ado, here are the top 10 winners (in no particular order) of the Loop’s contest to name Obama’s new Iraq plan. Perhaps the Pentagon will even adopt one. Because every military operation needs a catchy name.

Operation Microsurge — submitted by retired federal government worker Jerry Kurtzweg, of Bethesda

Operation Mal Icky — submitted by retired Lawrence Suda, of D.C., who described the name as “Mal for our French speaking Secretary of State” and “Icky for the rest of us.”

Operation Baracking Bad — submitted by public affairs director Mike Bazinet, of Connecticut, who had other great submissions: Operation Camel Tiptoe and Operation Feckless Infidel.

Operation Fool Me Twice — submitted by a retired foreign service officer in D.C. who wished to remain anonymous.

Operation Sunni Delight — submitted by business owner Michael Gould, of D.C.

Operation Mulligan — submitted by retired DIA senior intelligence officer David Church, of Florida.

Operation Desert Stall — submitted by nonprofit group executive Robert Walker, of Alexandria.

Operation Tepid Thunder — submitted by PBS NewsHour deputy senior producer Daniel Sagalyn, of Arlington.

Operation Iraq Re-set — submitted by consulting company project manager Greg McNeely, of New Jersey.

Operation Hard Choices — submitted by Carroll Publishing news editor Matt Neufeld, of Greenbelt.

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all for your creative entries. And a special Loop thanks to our colleagues, Matea Gold, Jason Ukman and Craig Whitlock for judging the submissions.

Do you have a favorite winner?[polldaddy poll=8159330]

Colby Itkowitz is the lead anchor of the Inspired Life blog. She previously covered the quirks of national politics and the federal government.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
The Republicans debate Saturday night. The New Hampshire primary is on Feb. 9. Get caught up on the race.
Heading into the next debate...
Donald Trump returns to the Republican presidential debate stage Saturday night. Marco Rubio arrives as a sudden star, but fending off ferocious attacks from his rivals. Still glowing from his Iowa victory, Ted Cruz is trying to consolidate conservative support, while Ben Carson is struggling to avoid being typecast as the dead man walking.
Play Video
New Hampshire polling averages
Donald Trump holds a commanding lead in the next state to vote.
New Hampshire polling averages
Polling in New Hampshire has typically been volatile after Iowa's caucuses, but Bernie Sanders, from its neighboring state Vermont, has been holding a lead over Hillary Clinton.
55% 38%
Play Video
Upcoming debates
Feb. 6: GOP debate

on ABC News, in Manchester, N.H.

Feb. 11: Democratic debate

on PBS, in Wisconsin

Feb 13: GOP debate

on CBS News, in South Carolina

Campaign 2016
State of the race

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.