The Senate on Wednesday continued moving through its longstanding backlog of ambassadorial and judicial nominees, readying to confirm another five career diplomats and five federal judges.

But if Sen. Ted Cruz ran the Senate (and some say he does), they’d be among the last White House nominees to be confirmed.

In an op-ed in Politico on Wednesday, Cruz said the Republican response to President Obama’s planned executive action on immigration should be to refuse to vote on any more of his nominees.

“If the President announces executive amnesty, the new Senate Majority Leader who takes over in January should announce that the 114th Congress will not confirm a single nominee — executive or judicial — outside of vital national security positions, so long as the illegal amnesty persists,” Cruz wrote. “This is a potent tool given to Congress by the Constitution explicitly to act as a check on executive power. It is a constitutional power of the Majority Leader alone, and it would serve as a significant deterrent to a lawless President.”

During the White House briefing Wednesday, Press Secretary Josh Earnest was asked about Cruz’s threat. Earnest did not directly respond, instead simply saying that the American people wants Washington “putting the interests of the nation ahead of partisan political ambition or political interests. And that certainly is a message that the president has taken to heart, and we hope that Democrats and Republicans will do the same.”

Lest anyone dismiss this as the ramblings of a freshman senator, we should recall who originated the idea of only funding the government if Obamacare was defunded.

But for now, if all goes as expected Wednesday evening, the following diplomats — who have been waiting months — can dust off their suitcases and book their flights:

• Maureen Elizabeth Cormack, who on Friday will have been waiting a year since she was first nominated, to be ambassador to Bosnia and Herzegovina.

• Allan P. Mustard to be ambassador to Turkmenistan.

• Earl Robert Miller to be ambassador to Botswana.

• Judith Beth Cefkin to be ambassador to Fiji, and also to Republic of Kiribati, the Republic of Nauru, the Kingdom of Tonga, and Tuvalu.

• Robert T. Yamate to be ambassador to Madagascar, and also to the Union of the Comoros