The special election to fill former Arlington County Board member Chris Zimmerman’s seat will be April 8, which gives candidates another week to familiarize residents with their choices.

At least six candidates plan to run: Alan Howze, who won the Democratic caucus Feb. 1; John Vihstadt, a longtime civic activist who is running as an independent, with the endorsement of both the Republican and Green parties; Libertarian Evan Bernick; Janet Murphy of the Independent Green Party; and Stephen Holbrook, an independent.

Those candidates can now start collecting signatures in order to properly file for the ballot by Feb. 18.

William T. Newman Jr., the chief judge of the Arlington Circuit Court, notified the Arlington elections office of the election date  Tuesday morning. The decision had to wait until Zimmerman vacated his office, which he did Monday at 5 p.m.