While former Prince George’s County Executive Jack B. Johnson (D) was being sentenced to seven years in prison Tuesday for a “pay to play” scheme, a divided Prince George’s County Council was selecting new leaders.

The council unanimously elected Andrea Harrison (D-Springdale) to serve as council chairman for the next 12 months. Harrison had been passed over last year, when then-council member Leslie Johnson (D) provided key support to Ingrid Turner (D-Bowie) in her bid for the chairmanship. Turner’s term as council chairman expired Tuesday.

Eric Olson (D-College Park), who served under Turner as vice chairman, was reelected vice chairman on Tuesday. Council members: Turner, Obie Patterson (D-Fort Washington) and Karen Toles (D-Suitland) opposed Olson’s reelection to the post.

Leslie Johnson stepped down from the council on July 31 after pleading guilty several weeks earlier in the federal probe that ensnared her husband, the former county executive. She will be sentenced Friday in federal court in Greenbelt.