The Washington Post

How the Md. Senate voted on same-sex marriage

By a vote of 25 to 22, the Maryland Senate on Thursday approved a bill to legalize same-sex marriage. The bill, which passed the House of Delegates last week, now heads to Gov. Martin O’Malley (D) for his promised signature. Here’s how the Senate voted:

Voting in favor of the bill (25):

Sen. James Brochin (D-Baltimore County)

Sen. Joan Carter Conway (D-Baltimore)

Sen. William C. Ferguson (D-Baltimore)*

Sen. Jennie M. Forehand (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. Brian E. Frosh (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. Robert J. Garagiola (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. Lisa A. Gladden (D-Baltimore)*

Sen. Verna L. Jones-Rodwell (D-Baltimore)*

Sen. Edward J. Kasemeyer (D-Baltimore County)

Sen. Dolores G. Kelley (D-Baltimore County)*

Sen. Nancy J. King (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. Allan H. Kittleman (R-Howard)*

Sen. Katherine A. Klausmeier (D-Baltimore County)

Sen. Richard S. Madaleno Jr. (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. Roger Manno (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. Nathaniel J. McFadden (D-Baltimore)*

Sen. Karen S. Montgomery (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. Paul G. Pinsky (D-Prince George’s)*

Sen. Catherine E. Pugh (D-Baltimore)*

Sen. Victor R. Ramirez (D-Prince George’s)*

Sen. Jamie B. Raskin (D-Montgomery)*

Sen. James N. Robey (D-Howard)*

Sen. James C. Rosapepe (D-Prince George’s)

Sen. Ronald N. Young (D-Frederick)*

Sen. Robert A. Zirkin (D-Baltimore County)*

* Indicates sponsor or co-sponsor

Voting against the bill (22):

Sen. John C. Astle (D-Anne Arundel)

Sen. Joanne C. Benson (D-Prince George’s)

Sen. David R. Brinkley (R-Frederick)

Sen. Richard E. Colburn (R-Dorchester)

Sen. Ulysses Currie (D-Prince George’s)

Sen. James E. DeGrange Sr. (D-Anne Arundel)

Sen. Roy P. Dyson (St. Mary’s)

Sen. George C. Edwards (R-Garrett)

Sen. Joseph M. Getty (R-Carroll)

Sen. Barry Glassman (R-Harford)

Sen. Nancy Jacobs (R-Harford)

Sen. J.B. Jennings (R-Baltimore County)

Sen. James N. Mathias Jr. (D-Worcester)

Sen. Thomas M. Middleton (D-Charles)

Sen. Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D-Calvert)**

Sen. C. Anthony Muse (D-Prince George’s)

Sen. Douglas J.J. Peters (D-Prince George’s)

Sen. E.J. Pipkin (R-Queen Anne’s)

Sen. Edward R. Reilly (R-Anne Arundel)

Sen. Christopher B. Shank (R-Washington)

Sen. Bryan W. Simonaire (R-Anne Arundel)

Sen. Norman R. Stone Jr. (D-Baltimore County)

** The Senate president introduces bills requested by the governor.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing